Skip to main content

Finding Survey Instruments and Questionnaires: Intro

Databases Indexing Survey and Questionnaire References

Business Source Complete (FTD)

CINAHL Complete (FTD)

Cochrane Library (FTD)

ERIC (selective FTD)

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) (IOD)

Health Business Elite (FTD)

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (FTD)

MEDLINE (selective FTD)

Mental Measurements Yearbook (FTD)

ProQuest Digital Dissertations and Theses (FTD)

PsycINFO (FTD)

SocINDEX with Full Text (FTD)

SPORTDiscus with Full Text (FTD)

________________________

Use the links above to navigate to instructional pages for each resource.

 

Welcome!

This guide will show you how to locate survey instruments and questionnaires using the resources available to you through the UT Tyler Library.

Many databases contain behavioral instrument references. 

Its important to bear the following points in mind as you work your way through this guide: 

 

The Importance of Searching Multiple Databases

 No single database covers the literature of survey instruments and questionnaires exhaustively or comprehensively.

All of the databases listed in this guide have gaps in their coverage. 

So you will most likely need to search across several of them to ensure that you don't miss important resources. 

 

Different Levels of Access

Most (but not all) of the databases listed on this guide provide full text access to the instruments themselves. Some only index these resources.

So its important to understand the distinction between Full Text and Index Only databases. 

• Index Only Databases (IOD) make research literature "discoverable" or "findable," but they don't bring the documents to you.

Like a radar array, they make resources 'visible' by showing you what has been published on a topic.

But you have to go and find the text of the documents yourself.

• Full Text Databases  (FTD) both make resources "discoverable" and make them immediately accessible to you...usually through a pdf or html full text link embedded in the record. 

The Four Tasks of Locating Usable Instruments

1) Discovering relevant instrument references.

2) Locating instrument full text.

3) Determining the copyright status of instruments.

4) Securing permission for use of the instrument.

Comparative Strengths of Online Resources

The table below indicates the instrument information each resource is best suited to supply.  

Instrument References Instrument Full Text Psychometrics Corresponding Author Information¹
Business Source Complete yes no yes yes
CINAHL Complete yes no yes no
ERIC yes no yes no
Google (Web Crawler) yes² yes no no
Health and Psychosocial Instruments yes no yes no
Health Business Elite yes no yes no
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Ed. yes no yes yes (2013-)
MEDLINE yes no yes yes
Mental Measurements Yearbook yes no yes n/a
ProQuest Digital Dissertations and Theses no yes no no
PsycINFO yes no yes yes
PsycTESTS Yes yes yes yes
SocINDEX yes no yes yes
SPORTDiscus yes no yes yes

______

¹ Itemized in the bibliographic record for the article.  Authors of joint-authored studies will usually stipulate a corresponding author in their title page. But going through full text of each article to locate this information can be time consuming. This criterion specifically rates the databases on the degree to which they assist researchers in readily finding this information. Some databases are exceptionally helpful to researchers by embedding this information in their bibliographic records.

² Extremely variable content. Google search will retrieve instrument references. But the formats vary so widely (from PubMed records to web pages to book chapters) that it can be hard to follow. Furthermore, Google search results display is plagued by ergonomic issues that render it visually difficult to navigate .