Research Guides: Pharmacy: Databases

Access Issues?

Contact your librarian for issues with downloading articles, connecting to databases, or accessing resources from a hospital (hospital firewalls often block access). The more details you provide, the more effectively we can help.

Where did you see the error (SwoopSearch, database list, etc.)?
Copy and paste the error message or provide a screenshot with the URL.
Have you successfully accessed the resources before?
Can you access other UT Tyler services (Canvas, email, etc.)?

For assistance outside of regular business hours, please contact library@uttyler.edu or 903.566.5342.

Pharmacy Specific Databases

Important note for Lexicomp and Facts & Comparisons: To circumvent technical issues, avoid switching back and forth between these resources within the same browser session.

Use separate browsers: Open Lexicomp in one browser (e.g., Chrome) and Facts & Comparisons in another (e.g., Edge).
Close and reopen: Completely close out (including logging out) of one resource before opening the other.
While clearing your cache may also help, it's not always practical for frequent users.

AccessPharmacy
Contains textbooks, pharmacy references, integrated curriculum resources, and research information on drugs and supplements.
more...less...
Top 300 Drug Cards available in AccessPharmacy.
Create an individual profile to be able to access the Top 300 Drug Cards and other resources!
Facts & Comparisons
A resource to compare drugs, identify potential drugs by disease/symptom, and screen for drug interactions.
Lexidrug
Provides point-of-care drug information, including dosing, administration, warnings and precautions, as well as clinical content.
LWW Health Library
Provides access to commonly used textbooks and multimedia for use in medical, pharmacy, and other heath sciences programs.
Micromedex
Referenced Clinical Decision Support for medication, toxicology, disease, acute care and alternative medicine; includes Drug Interactions, CareNotes and more.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
more...less...
Use this link to access short, easy to use, PubMed video tutorials : https://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/disted/pubmedtutorial/cover.html
UpToDate
Evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource that assists clinicians with point-of-care decisions.

Download & Install UpToDate On Your Device

Select UpToDate from the database list
It may auto-land you on the Registration form. If it does, simply follow the prompts to create your our free UpToDate account
If it doesn’t click the Register button (upper right of screen), complete the online application, click the Send Verification Code button, then go to your email and follow the prompts.
Once you have your account, here is a link to instructions for downloading the app from the APP Store or Google Play: https://www.wolterskluwer.com/en/solutions/uptodate/uptodate/mobile
Here is a short video tutorial for installation, setup, and usage:

Renewing UpToDate Access

Select UpToDate from the database list.
Select the Sign In option (top right corner)
On the sign in page, BELOW the user/password boxes, select OpenAthens.
You should be taken to a “Find your institution” page.
Start typing Tyler – University of Texas – Tyler should come up as an option.
Select it.
Next, a pop-up box with “Choose how to sign-in” will come up.
Select University of Texas at Tyler
Now use your UTTyler Sign in credentials.
This should effectively “renew” your subscription.

Other Useful Databases

Anatomy.TV
Powered by Primal Pictures, view a complete and medically accurate 3D model of the human anatomy.
CINAHL Complete
Provides full-text for more than 1,300 nursing & allied health journals.
Cochrane Library
A collection of databases that include full-text systematic reviews, as well as other sources of information such as other systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations, and individual clinical trials.
ERIC
The Education Resources Information Center contains more than 1.6 million records and links to more than 631,000 full-text documents.
Sciwheel
A citation manager allowing saving and organizing of research.
NOTE: Create an account to save research by using the "Sign In" link in the upper right-hand corner. The "Create a Free Account" box only creates a 30-day trial account.
JoVE Science Education
Provides simple, easy to understand video demonstrations of laboratory fundamentals.
SciFinder Scholar
Provides integrated access to the world's most comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences.
Please register here for an account before accessing SciFinder Scholar.
Scopus
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Web of Science
Provides access to the world's leading citation databases, with coverage from nearly 9,300 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access Journals. Current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage dating back to 1965.

Pharmacy

Muntz Library provides access hundreds of databases!

Select the image below to explore our entire database collection.

Liaison Librarian for Nursing, Pharmacy, & Health Professions

Access Issues?

Contact your librarian for issues with downloading articles, connecting to databases, or accessing resources from a hospital (hospital firewalls often block access). The more details you provide, the more effectively we can help.

Where did you see the error (SwoopSearch, database list, etc.)?

Copy and paste the error message or provide a screenshot with the URL.

Have you successfully accessed the resources before?

Can you access other UT Tyler services (Canvas, email, etc.)?

For assistance outside of regular business hours, please contact library@uttyler.edu or 903.566.5342.

Pharmacy Specific Databases

Important note for Lexicomp and Facts & Comparisons: To circumvent technical issues, avoid switching back and forth between these resources within the same browser session.

Download & Install UpToDate On Your Device

Renewing UpToDate Access

Other Useful Databases


Like us on Facebook	Follow us on Instagram	Check us out on YouTube