Research Guides: Pharmacy: Useful Websites

Web Resources

Pharmacist's Letter

A Gift Subscription has been generously provided for students and faculty of the College of Pharmacy at The University of Texas at Tyler.

Pharmacy Students:

To active your Gift Subscription, visit www.studentpharmacists.com

Click "ACTIVATE MY PHARMACIST'S LETTER SUBSCRIPTION".

Follow the simple steps given on the screen.

Click "Submit." Your information will be verified and your account instantly created.

Go to www. pharmacistsletter.com / login and log in with your email address and password.

Pharmacy Faculty:

Send an email to faculty@pletter.com with your name, degree, phone number and School/College name to activate your account.

Pharmacy Preceptors: Temporarily Unavailable

USP - NF

USP - NF is a source for FDA-enforceable quality standards for drugs, dietary supplements, excipients, procedures for tests, assays, analytical methods, and more.

The USP-NF website has changed - please follow the new directions below.

NF Online access: www.uspnf.com

Click on the Login Button in the top right hand corner of the webpage and select "USP-NF Online":

If you previously set up an account, log in with your email address and password.

If you have not set up an account, click on the line below "Create a new USP Access Point account, if you do not have one."

If you are creating a new account remember you must use your UT Tyler (or Patriots) email. Do not enter anything in the box labelled "Subscription Key".

USP-FCC

USP-FCC, Food Chemicals Codex, is the internationally - recognized compendium of purity and quality standards for food ingredients.

The USP-FCC website has changed - please follow the new directions below.

FCC Online access: http://online.foodchemicalscodex.org/

Click on the Login Button in the top right hand corner of the webpage ans select "USP-FCC Online".

If you previously set up an account, log in with your email address and password.

If you have not set up an account, click on the line below "Create a new USP Access Point account, if you do not have one."

If you are creating a new account remember you must use your UT Tyler (or Patriots) email. Do not enter anything in the box labelled "Subscription Key".

AACP American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy
"The mission of AACP is to lead and partner with our members in advancing pharmacy education, research, scholarship, practice and service to improve societal health."
AAPCC American Association of Poison Control Center
"The AAPCC's mission is to actively advance the health care role and public health mission of our members through information, advocacy, education and research."
ACCP American College of Clinical Pharmacology
"ACCP is a non-profit membership association with a 40+ year history of providing interdisciplinary, accredited Continuing Education, publications, networking and other career-enhancing opportunities to healthcare professionals using clinical pharmacology in disciplines from research to patient care."
ACCP American College of Clinical Pharmacy
"ACCP is a professional and scientific society that provides leadership, education, advocacy, and resources enabling clinical pharmacists to achieve excellence in practice and research."
AMA American Medical Association
"From advocating on behalf of physicians and patients to addressing their day-to-day needs - the AMA is working to shape a healthier future."
APhA-ASP American Pharmacists Association Academy of Student Pharmacists
"The mission of the APhA Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP) is to be the collective voice of student pharmacists, to provide opportunities for professional growth, to improve patient care, and to envision and advance the future of pharmacy."
APhA American Pharmacists Association
As a member, enjoy access to the latest academic literature, news updates, networking, scholarships and awards.
ASHP American Society of Health-System Pharmacists
"ASHP is the national professional organization whose more than 40,000 members include pharmacists, student pharmacists, and pharmacy technicians who serve as patient care providers on healthcare teams in acute and ambulatory settings."
CPF Community Pharmacy Foundation
The Community Pharmacy Foundation is your source for grant and project funding to advance community pharmacy practice!
CPF Grant Information
HIMSS Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society
"HIMSS is a global, cause-based, not-for-profit organization focused on better health through information technology (IT). HIMSS leads efforts to optimize health engagements and care outcomes using information technology."
TPA Texas Pharmacy Association
"TPA serves members practicing in all areas of pharmacy, including community, hospitals, long-term care facilities, education, manufacturing and distribution. TPA is an effective and strong voice for all Texas pharmacy professionals in advocacy, continuing education and practice innovation by empowering today’s pharmacists to be effective health-care advisors."
TSBP Texas State Board of Pharmacy
"The mission of the TSBP is to promote, preserve, and protect the public health, safety, and welfare by fostering the provision of quality pharmaceutical care to the citizens of Texas through the regulation of the practice of pharmacy, the operation of pharmacies, and the distribution of prescription drugs in the public interest."

Compounding Today
"The compounding pharmacist's best source for detailed information needed to grow and maintain a compounding practice. Brought to you by the International Journal of Pharmaceutical Compounding. "
International Journal of Pharmaceutical Compounding
Indexed in MedLine through PubMed, full-text articles are available through Interlibrary Loan.
Perrigo
"Perrigo Company plc is a leading global healthcare supplier that develops, manufactures and distributes Rx Pharmaceuticals and compounding products.The company is the world's largest manufacturer of OTC pharmaceutical products for the store brand market and an industry leader in pharmaceutical technologies."
Pharmaceutical Calculations
An open source textbook developed specifically for pharmacy technicians, but also provides a good overview of health care mathematics for any health professional. Primary author, Sean Parsons.
PCCA Professional Compounding Centers of America
PCCA is an independent compounding pharmacist’s resource for fine chemicals, equipment, devices, flavors, ACPE-accredited training and education, pharmacy software, marketing, business and pharmacy consulting assistance. Membership includes over 3,900 independent community pharmacists in the United States, Canada, Australia, and other countries around the world.

AHRQ Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality
"The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's (AHRQ) mission is to produce evidence to make health care safer, higher quality, more accessible, equitable, and affordable, and to work within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and with other partners to make sure that the evidence is understood and used."
BioSemantics
"The Biosemantics Association develops and evaluates tools that assist biologists in retrieving, extracting, and relating information and knowledge in the literature and in molecular databases, focussing on the elucidation of hidden or implicit knowledge by the massive meta-analysis of textual documents."
CDC Centers for Disease Control
The CDC works to confront global disease threats through advanced computing and lab analysis of huge amounts of data to quickly find solutions. They track disease to find out what is making people sick and the most effective ways to prevent it. The CDC also brings new knowledge to individual health care and community health to save more lives and reduce waste.
ClinicalTrials.gov
"ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world."
FDA U.S. Food & Drug Recalls & Safety Alerts
Provides information gathered from press releases and other public notices about certain recalls of FDA-regulated products. NOTE: Not all recalls have press releases or are posted on this site.
FDA U.S. Food and Drug Administration
"The Food and Drug Administration (FDA or USFDA) is a federal agency of the United States Department of Health and Human Services and is responsible for protecting and promoting public health through the regulation and supervision of food safety, tobacco products, dietary supplements, prescription and over-the-counter pharmaceutical drugs (medications), vaccines, biopharmaceuticals, blood transfusions, medical devices, electromagnetic radiation emitting devices (ERED), cosmetics, animal foods & feed and veterinary products."
The Medical Letter
"The Medical Letter, Inc. is a nonprofit organization that publishes critical appraisals of new prescription drugs and comparative reviews of previously approved drugs in its newsletter: The Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics. Our publication is intended specifically to meet the needs of busy healthcare professionals who want unbiased, reliable, and timely drug information."
MeSH Medical Subject Headings
"MeSH is the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus. It consists of sets of terms naming descriptors in a hierarchical structure that permits searching at various levels of specificity."
Orange Book: Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations
The "Orange Book" identifies drug products approved on the basis of safety and effectiveness by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (the Act) and related patent and exclusivity information.
PubChem
National Center for Biotechnology Information and the National Library of Medicine
TXPRN Texas Professional Recovery Network
A nationally recognized peer assistance program dedicated to helping health care professionals enter a safe, healthy recovery. The program is fully supported and recognized by the Texas State Board of Pharmacy (TSBP). Self-referrals as well as referrals from any concerned third parties are accepted and are kept strictly confidential.
U.S. National Library of Medicine Fact Sheets
A list of Fact Sheets covering many subjects, databases, publications, Internet Services, and more from the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NIH).

Sources of Health Statistics

Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)
The nation’s premier system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services.
City Health Dashboard
Created by NYU Langone, this site contains data for cities with populations of 50,000 or more. It contains over 40 measures of health for over 900 cities at the city, zip code, census tract, and congressional district levels.
County Health Rankings and Roadmaps
Ranks counties on key health factors and health outcomes focusing on quality of life, health behavior, social and economic factors, and physical environment.
Health Statistics by Topic
From the National Library of Medicine - Use this table to find health resources from reliable sources.
KFF
Independent source for health policy research, polling, and journalism.
National Center for Health Statistics
Rural Health Information Hub (RHIhub)
Contains statistics for metro and nonmetro counties on demographics, health disparities, social determinants, access to services and more.
United States Census Bureau
Find statistics for disability, fertility and healthcare at the city, zip code, and
county levels. Basic and advanced search options are available.


Like us on Facebook	Follow us on Instagram	Check us out on YouTube