A library database is a searchable online collection of published works. Many publications are subscription-based (also known as paywalled) and typically require a fee to access. The library provides free full-text access to high-quality publications that would otherwise be behind a paywall. Finding and using these types of resources for your assignments is crucial to your academic success.
Resources include (but not limited to):
Explore History databases with descriptions and links below.
For a full list of databases subscribed to by the library, consult the Databases by Title page.
Multidisciplinary
Journal articles, conference papers, dissertations and theses, trade journals, primary sources, video content
Arts, business, economics, government, history, law, literature, philosophy, politics
Citations for: archives, books, newspapers, official publications, periodicals, references
Anthropology, area studies, art, art history, business, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, engineering, health sciences, history, literature & language, marketing, music, performing arts, philosophy, science & technology, social sciences
Books, images, journal articles, videos
Multidisciplinary
Case studies, dissertations, magazines, market reports, newspapers, scholarly journals, trade & professional journals, videos
Anthropology, criminal justice, education, history, law, political science, sociology
Books, court records, government publications, images, maps, pamphlets, testimonials, voyage logs
Anthropology, genealogy, geography, history, political science
Diaries, documents, government records, letters, maps, newspapers, pamphlets, photographs
Anthropology, art, business, economics, education, history, law, literature, marketing, news, political science, religion, sociology
Periodicals published between 1740 and 1940
Multidisciplinary
Digital collections from museums and archives around the world
Anthropology, history, literature & languages
Administrative records, diaries, illustrations, letters, maps, photographs
Anthropology, art, education, health sciences, history, literature, political science, psychology, social work, sociology
Books, pamphlets, journals
Anthropology, art, business, economics, education, geography, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, psychology, science, sociology
Harper's Weekly illustrated newspapers: 1857 to 1912
Anthropology, area studies, business, economics, education, fine arts, history, languages, law, linguistics, literature, music, philosophy, political science, psychology, public administration, religion, social sciences
Backfiles of scholarly periodicals spanning more than two centuries
Anthropology, business, criminal justice, economics, history, law, political science
Newspapers from late 17th century to late 20th century (All 50 states can be searched. Newspapers include: eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements, obituaries)
Criminal justice, history, law, political science, public administration, religion
Hearings, legislative histories, scholarly journals, Supreme Court briefs, U.S. federal agency documents
Education, history, political science, psychology, public administration, technology
Journals, news, periodicals
Communication, computer science, criminal justice, engineering, history, political science
Conference proceedings, government publications, industry & scholarly journals, magazines, technical reports, trade journals