Search the catalogs of libraries worldwide. Select the image below to access the catalog. WorldCat will also tell you which libraries near you may have your item.
Contains recently-published scholarly and professional ebooks from all disciplines.
Restricted to on-site use for visitors and to currently enrolled students and currently employed faculty and staff at UT Tyler for off-site use.
This edited book guides students and researchers through the processes of researching everyday stories about families.
The SAGE Handbook of Historical Theory introduces the foundations of modern historical theory and the applications of theory to a full range of sub-fields of historical research, bringing the reader as up to date as possible with continuing debates and current developments.
The original essays by distinguished historians provide an inclusive examination of how the war flowed from, required, and resulted in the restructuring of the nineteenth-century household.
The American Civil War caused upheaval and massive private bereavement, but the years 1861-1865 also defined a great nation. This book provides a concise introduction to events from the secession to the end of the war.
The first reference work to draw together the stories and studies of women in the American Civil War, this annotated bibliography offers access to the literature that documents the history of women who experienced the war, changed it, and were changed by it. Offering nearly 800 entries, it lists both primary and secondary sources, classic and current works, and items in print and available on the Internet.
This series was originally conceived in 1883 by the editors of Century Company, who set out to provide an accurate, unbiased account of the war. It was authored by the commanders and their subordinates from both the Confederate and Union forces who actually fought, planned or were eyewitnesses to the events they describe therein.
Some books written by survivors of Camp Ford published before 1922 appear in Google Books in their entirety:
Camps and Prisons: Twenty Months in the Department of the Gulf, by Augustine Joseph Hickey Duganne
Sketches in Prison Camps, by Charles C. Nott
Includes essay "Prison City, Camp Ford: Largest Confederate prisoner-of-war camp in the Trans-Mississippi," by James Smallwood.
Includes Arthur E. Gillian's 'Ten Weeks in Texas as a Prisoner of War."
A work to shed light on the history of Camp Ford, a prison camp for Union prisoners during the Civil War. Located in the UT Tyler University Archives & Special Collections. You won't be able to check it out of the library, but you can read it in the archives.
Findings and interpretations of the archaeological fieldwork at Camp Ford.
A story of a soldier who escaped the Camp Ford prison. Located in the UT Tyler University Archives & Special Collections. You will not be able to check out this book, but you can read it in the archives.
Good, from Dallas, was the first captain of the Good-Douglas Battery. He wouldn't last long....
Includes several chapters on the Civil War; written by a former UT-Tyler professor.
“A primary source is firsthand testimony or direct evidence concerning a topic under investigation. The nature and value of a source cannot be determined without reference to the topic and questions it is meant to answer. The same document, or other piece of evidence, may be a primary source in one investigation and secondary in another. The search for primary sources does not, therefore, automatically include or exclude any category of records or documents.” (Yale University Library)
Primary sources may include diaries, letters, speeches, interviews, autobiographies, personal narratives, eyewitness accounts, memoirs, or government documents. They may be published or unpublished, printed or handwritten, on microfilm or fiche or online.
Start your search in the UT Tyler catalog with a subject or keyword subject, then enter one of the following words as a separate subject, then click on search.
Sources [will pull up collections of documents]
Diaries
Correspondence
Interviews
Personal narratives
You may also want to try for certain keywords in the title, usually the subtitle, such as "documentary history," "letters," or "papers." You will almost certainly get some false hits, but you can weed through them.
