This page describes different sections of the library and what kinds of print material will be located there. This will be helpful if looking at a call number and trying to locate a specific item in the library. Please note however that the library’s collection development preference is for items in electronic format, so it is recommended that you check out our growing collection of Ebooks. The Muntz Library also has a selection of Ebook versions of textbooks for UT Tyler classes. Check our Muntz Library Textbook Guide to see if your textbook is available.
Reference: Reference books are located on the 2nd floor of the library. Reference books are for in-library use only and cannot be checked out.
Ready Reference: In Ready Reference, you can find commonly used reference items like publication manuals and style guides. Our Ready Reference section is located on the short bookcases to the right of the Help Desk.
Reserves: Print materials and other physical items in our reserves collection are located at the Help Desk on the 2nd floor of the library. Learn more about accessing the reserves collection
Bestseller Collection: Did you know that the library has a bestseller collection? These books are located on the short bookcases on the 2nd floor in the living room area and on the 4th floor near the elevator.
New Books: Before new books get added to the general collection, they spend some time located on the tall bookcases on the 2nd floor in the living room area.
CML: The CML (Curriculum Materials Laboratory) contains resources primarily used by Education and Children's Literature students. It includes things like Easy Fiction, Juvenile Fiction, Adolescent Fiction, and Young Adult Fiction. The CML is located on the 2nd floor of the library in LIB 211.
Stacks: The stacks are located on the 2nd floor of the library. This is where you will find the majority of books you can check out.