Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Creating Oral Histories
New Directions in Queer Oral History by
Publication Date: 2022-04-25
This comprehensive international collection reflects on the practice, purpose, and functionality of queer oral history, and in doing so demonstrates the vibrancy and innovation of this rapidly evolving field.
OHA Oral History Best Practices
This brief document presents the Oral History Association’s guidelines for how to conduct a high-quality oral history interview
African American AIDS Activism Oral History Project
The African American AIDS Activism Oral History Project captures the stories of people who have fought the spread of HIV and AIDS in African American communities, whether through protest, service provision, or policy work.
Archives of Lesbian Oral Testimony
The Archives of Lesbian Oral Testimony collects and makes available the oral histories of people who presently or at one time identified as same-sex and same-gender attracted women.
Country Queers is an ongoing multimedia oral history project documenting the diverse experiences of rural, small town, and country LGBTQIA2S+ folks – across intersecting layers of identity such as race, class, age, ability, gender identity, and religion.
GLBT Historical Society Oral Histories
The GLBT's Historical Society's digital collection at California Revealed consists of moving image and audio recordings from 1920s to the 2000s. The collection includes interviews, oral histories and event footage, related to topics such as LGBTQ culture and experience, San Francisco, the Folsom Street Fair, sexuality, and more.
Leather Archives & Museum Oral History Exhibit
The Leather Archives & Museum possess hundreds of oral history recordings, videos and transcripts which are available to researchers by contacting the LA&M. This online exhibit highlights the different types and formats held in their collections.
Lesbian Herstory Archives Oral Histories
The LHA holds over 3,000 oral history cassettes in the Archives' Spoken Word Collection and 950 videotapes in its collection. As of May 2021, over 385 hours or about 16 days worth of content has been digitized and made available to the public on the LHA Audio/Visual Collections website.
LGBTQ Religious Archives Network
In-depth interviews with more than 60 early leaders of LGBTQ+ religious movements.
Oral History Hub
A compilation list of different oral history projects focusing on the LGBTQ+ community
OUTWORDS captures, preserves, and shares the stories of LGBTQ+ elders, to build community and catalyze social change.
StoryCorps - OutLoud
StoryCorps OutLoud launched in 2014 on the 45th anniversary of the Stonewall Uprising. Dedicated to documenting and sharing stories from lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) people from across the United States, OutLoud is an extension of our longstanding commitment to preserving LGBTQ stories in a time of profound change in social attitudes about sexuality and gender identity in our country.