LGBTQ+ Resources: Archives & Digital Collections

The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world.

This guide offers an introduction to the LGBTQIA+ collections of the Library of Congress.

List of NARA holdings pertaining to LGBTQ issues and figures.

The Portal to Texas History is a gateway to rare, historical, and primary source materials from or about Texas. Created and maintained by the University of North Texas Libraries, the Portal leverages the power of hundreds of content partners across the state to provide a vibrant, growing collection of resources.

The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America's libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.

Founded in 1985, the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender (GLBT) Historical Society is recognized internationally as a leader in the field of LGBTQ public history. Digital Collections include videos, recordings, papers, periodicals, and other materials.

ONE Archives at the USC Libraries is the largest repository of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer (LGBTQ) materials in the world. Founded in 1952, ONE Archives currently houses over two million archival items including periodicals, books, film, video and audio recordings, photographs, artworks, organizational records, and personal papers.

Small set of collected, digitized materials from the New York Public Library

"Makes the descriptions of the rich archival, manuscript, and museum collections in repositories across the state available to the public." Currently 23 archives, including the State Archives, Center for American History at UT-Austin, and UT-Arlington.

Gulf Coast Archive and Museum of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender History, Inc. (GCAM) is a large collection of artifacts and stories, from the 1950's to the present, focusing on the Texas Gulf Coast area. Although the museum space has closed, their archives are still available by appointment.

The Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) Archive at UNT is a collaborative project to document the history and culture of the LGBTQ communities in the South and the Southwest. This major collecting initiative involves working with community partners to collection documentation of people, places, and events through primary source materials, including letters, photographs, newspapers and magazines, scrapbooks, diaries, audio-visual materials, organizational records, posters, flyers, and objects.

The LGBT History Research Collection includes personal papers, organizational records, publications, and library collections that preserve and promote the collective understanding of Houston’s and the region’s Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender communities and service organizations.

ONE Archives at the USC Libraries is the largest repository of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer (LGBTQ) materials in the world. Founded in 1952, ONE Archives currently houses over two million archival items including periodicals, books, film, video and audio recordings, photographs, artworks, organizational records, and personal papers.

Founded in 1985, the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender (GLBT) Historical Society is recognized internationally as a leader in the field of LGBTQ public history.

The Lesbian Herstory Archives exists to gather, preserve and provide access to records of Lesbian lives and activities.