Research Guides: Health Sciences & Kinesiology: Databases

Where to Begin

Databases vary in subject specialty. Review descriptions to find the best fit for your topic before starting your search.

Tips

Always search more than one database.
Always use key words.
- Typing a sentence or research question into a database search box will yield an overwhelming amount of irrelevant results.
Create database accounts whenever possible.
- This provides " "insurance" if your search session times out and allows you to save searches.

Suggested Library Databases

Get started with these library databases, focusing on allied health, health sciences, and biomedical topics

Anatomy.TV
Powered by Primal Pictures, view a complete and medically accurate 3D model of the human anatomy.
CINAHL Complete
Provides full-text for more than 1,300 nursing & allied health journals.
Cochrane Library
Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs), and other featured content (Special Collections, reviews from Epistemonikos).
Gale Onefile: Health And Medicine
Full text nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources.
Health & Medical Collection
Comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, as well as the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets.
MEDLINE
Provides citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals covering all areas of medicine.
Nursing & Allied Health Database
Comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
OvidSP
Provides full-text access to over 80 scholarly journals covering nursing, medicine, and health sciences. To see the available full-text content, click on Additional Limits and check Ovid Full Text Available.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Scopus
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

PEDro: the Physiotherapy Evidence Database
"...a free database of randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy." PEDro website

Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine (Gale OneFile)
Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. The database offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.
SPORTDiscus with Fulltext
Provides full text for 415 sports and sports medicine journals.
Web of Science
Provides access to the world's leading citation databases, with coverage from nearly 9,300 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access Journals. Current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage dating back to 1965.

Additional Databases

This section contains recommended databases in the most commonly requested topical areas outside of health sciences and kinesiology.

Consumer Health Complete
Provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary and holistic medicine.
Consumer Health Database
Includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
Gale eBooks - General Reference
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

APA PsycINFO
Contains nearly 2.4 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
Feature material on unpublished information-gathering tools for clinicians that are discussed in journal articles, such as questionnaires, interview schedules, tests, checklists, rating and other scales, coding schemes, and projective techniques.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
A comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.

APA PsycARTICLES
Contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals, including 48 published by the American Psychological Association (APA).
APA PsycINFO
Contains nearly 2.4 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Provides nearly 575 full text publications, including nearly 550 peer-reviewed titles and covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Psychology (Gale OneFile)
Gale OneFile: Psychology provides access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.
Psychology Database
Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
Psychotherapy.net
A library of over 300 training videos featuring the leading practitioners in the field.

Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts, and its companion file Social Services Abstracts, cover the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
Sociology Database
Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies.

Academic Video Online‎
Curated, discipline-focused, primary-source collections, websites, and streaming media for learning and research.
Counseling and Therapy in Video
A first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice, which provides a thorough grounding in dozens of therapeutic methods and diagnoses, insight into the human condition, and training in skills such as reflection and empathy while working with specific populations such as veterans and teens.
PBS Video Collection: Fourth Edition
More than 1,200 streaming videos of documentaries and series from PBS; with a range of content from science to history, art to Shakespeare, diversity to business and economics, and more.

Health Sciences & Kinesiology

Spanish Resources

Liaison Librarian for Nursing, Pharmacy, & Health Professions

Where to Begin

Databases vary in subject specialty. Review descriptions to find the best fit for your topic before starting your search.

Tips

Always search more than one database.

Always use key words.

Typing a sentence or research question into a database search box will yield an overwhelming amount of irrelevant results.

Create database accounts whenever possible.

This provides " "insurance" if your search session times out and allows you to save searches.

Suggested Library Databases

Get started with these library databases, focusing on allied health, health sciences, and biomedical topics

Additional Databases

This section contains recommended databases in the most commonly requested topical areas outside of health sciences and kinesiology.

Muntz Library provides access hundreds of databases!

Select the image below to explore our entire database collection.


Like us on Facebook	Follow us on Instagram	Check us out on YouTube