Research Guides: Sociology: Databases

What is a Database?

A library database is a searchable online collection of published works. Many publications are subscription-based (also known as paywalled) and typically require a fee to access. The library provides free full-text access to high-quality publications that would otherwise be behind a paywall. Finding and using these types of resources for your assignments is crucial to your academic success.

Resources include (but not limited to):

Peer-reviewed, scholarly articles
Book chapters
Newspaper articles
Trade publications
Dissertations and theses

Explore Sociology databases with descriptions and links below.

For a full list of databases subscribed to by the library, consult the Databases by Title page.

APA PsycARTICLES
Contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals, including 48 published by the American Psychological Association (APA).
APA PsycINFO
Contains nearly 2.4 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
Family Studies Abstracts
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Provides nearly 575 full text publications, including nearly 550 peer-reviewed titles and covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Race Relations Abstracts
Bibliographic records covering fundamental areas relevant to race relations, such as ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Social Science Database
Provides coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Sociology Database
Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies.

Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals.
JSTOR
Provides full-text access to hundreds of humanities, social science, and science scholarly books and journals.
MasterFILE Complete
Offers popular full-text magazines, reference books and other highly-regarded sources from the world's leading publishers; covers virtually every general interest subject area, it also includes an extensive collection of photos, maps and flags.
ProQuest Central
Brings together complete databases across major subject areas, including business, health and medical, language and literature, social sciences, education, science and technology, as well as core titles in the performing and visual arts, history, religion, philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
SAGE Journals
Includes more than 1000 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Science, and Science, Technology, and Medicine.
ScienceDirect
Features full-text ebooks and journals in the biological sciences, biochemistry & genetics, molecular biology, chemistry, immunology, medicine, neuroscience, nursing, pharmacology, physics, psychology, social science, veterinary science, economics, and other disciplines.
SpringerLink
Provides full-text access to hundreds of journals and ebooks covering science, medicine, humanities, and social science.
Wiley Online Library
Provides full-text access to over 500 scholarly journals covering science, the humanities, medicine, and the social sciences.


Like us on Facebook	Follow us on Instagram	Check us out on YouTube