Research Guides: Psychology & Counseling: Databases

What is a Database?

A library database is a searchable online collection of published works. Many publications are subscription-based (also known as paywalled) and typically require a fee to access. The library provides free full-text access to high-quality publications that would otherwise be behind a paywall. Finding and using these types of resources for your assignments is crucial to your academic success.

Resources include (but not limited to):

Peer-reviewed, scholarly articles
Book chapters
Newspaper articles
Trade publications
Dissertations and theses

Explore Psychology & Counseling databases with descriptions and links below.

For a full list of databases subscribed to by the library, consult the Databases by Title page.

Psychology Databases

APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals, including 48 published by the American Psychological Association (APA).
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Contains nearly 2.4 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides nearly 575 full text publications, including nearly 550 peer-reviewed titles and covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new window
A library of over 300 training videos featuring the leading practitioners in the field.

Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts: Volume 1 This link opens in a new window
Contains real transcripts of therapy and counseling sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and its treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material.
Counseling and Therapy in Video This link opens in a new window
A first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice, which provides a thorough grounding in dozens of therapeutic methods and diagnoses, insight into the human condition, and training in skills such as reflection and empathy while working with specific populations such as veterans and teens.

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Contains nearly 2.4 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) This link opens in a new window
Feature material on unpublished information-gathering tools for clinicians that are discussed in journal articles, such as questionnaires, interview schedules, tests, checklists, rating and other scales, coding schemes, and projective techniques.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.

Family Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts, and its companion file Social Services Abstracts, cover the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
Sociology Database This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text for more than 1,300 nursing & allied health journals.
Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Offers 24/7 access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Provides citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals covering all areas of medicine.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Features full-text ebooks and journals in the biological sciences, biochemistry & genetics, molecular biology, chemistry, immunology, medicine, neuroscience, nursing, pharmacology, physics, psychology, social science, veterinary science, economics, and other disciplines.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to hundreds of humanities, social science, and science scholarly books and journals.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Brings together complete databases across major subject areas, including business, health and medical, language and literature, social sciences, education, science and technology, as well as core titles in the performing and visual arts, history, religion, philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to hundreds of journals and ebooks covering science, medicine, humanities, and social science.

Alexander Street (Academic Video Online‎) This link opens in a new window
Curated, discipline-focused, primary-source collections, websites, and streaming media for learning and research.
Counseling and Therapy in Video This link opens in a new window
A first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice, which provides a thorough grounding in dozens of therapeutic methods and diagnoses, insight into the human condition, and training in skills such as reflection and empathy while working with specific populations such as veterans and teens.


Like us on Facebook	Follow us on Instagram	Check us out on YouTube