Research Guides: Psychology & Counseling: Books

Free E-Textbooks

Click HERE to access the Library-Provided E-Textbook Guide.

DSM-5-TR at the Library

The library has a physical copy of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (also known as DSM-5-TR) available at the Ready Reference section on the second floor of the library near the Help Desk.

Additionally, the library has two important companion titles, also located in the Ready Reference section, related to the DSM-5:

DSM-5 Clinical Cases (RC 473.D54 D76 2014) (Catalog Record)
DSM-5 Guidebook: The Essential Companion to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (RC455.2.C4 D55 2014) (Catalog Record)

These titles cannot be checked out or taken outside the library.

E-Book Databases

General Collection

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
A selection of scholarly and professional ebooks from all disciplines.
NOTE: To copy, print, download a chapter and/or to request the book, you will be asked to login with your Patriots credentials, even when on campus.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Contains recently-published scholarly and professional ebooks from all disciplines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to hundreds of humanities, social science, and science scholarly books and journals.
R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of medical, nursing and allied health ebooks.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to hundreds of journals and ebooks covering science, medicine, humanities, and social science.
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
Collection of eBooks in the fields of science, technology, engineering, medical, humanities and social science.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 500 scholarly journals covering science, the humanities, medicine, and the social sciences.

SwoopSearch

Below is a working copy of the search box from our library homepage. Known as Swoop Search, this discovery search box searches across most of the library's resources all at once and can search external resources.

SwoopSearch

Search for books, articles, media, and more

Advanced Search

Databases by Title || Journals by Title || Research Guides by Subject

WorldCat

Search the catalogs of libraries worldwide. Select the image below to access the catalog. WorldCat will also tell you which libraries near you may have your item.

Essential Research Methods Texts in Psychology & Counseling

Interpreting and Using Statistics in Psychological Research by Andrew N. Christopher
ISBN: 9781506304168
Publication Date: 2016-09-29
This practical, conceptual introduction to statistical analysis by award-winning teacher Andrew N. Christopher uses published research with inherently interesting social sciences content to help students make clear connections between statistics and real life. Using a friendly, easy-to-understand presentation, Christopher walks students through the hand calculations of key statistical tools and provides step-by-step instructions on how to run the appropriate analyses for each type of statistic in SPSS and how to interpret the output. With the premise that a conceptual grasp of statistical techniques is critical for students to truly understand why they are doing what they are doing, the author avoids overly formulaic jargon and instead focuses on when and how to use statistical techniques appropriately.
Methods in Psychological Research by Bryan J. Rooney; Annabel Ness Evans
ISBN: 9781506384931
Publication Date: 2018-08-25
Methods in Psychological Research introduces students to the rich world of research in psychology through student-friendly writing, compelling real-world examples, and frequent opportunities for practice. Using a relaxed yet supportive tone that eases student anxiety, the authors present a mixture of conceptual and practical discussions, and spark reader interest in research by covering meaningful topics that resonate with today's students. In-text features like Conceptual Exercises, FYI sections, and FAQ sections with accompanying visual cues support learning throughout the research experience. The Fourth Edition equips students with the tools they need to understand research concepts, conduct their own experiments, and present their findings.
My Biggest Research Mistake: Adventures and Misadventures in Psychological Research by Robert J. Sternberg (Editor)
ISBN: 9781506398846
Publication Date: 2019-04-02
My Biggest Research Mistake: Adventures and Misadventures in Psychological Research helps students and professionals in the field of psychological science learn from the diverse mistakes of successful scientists. Through 57 personal stories drawn from the experiences of fellows in the Association for Psychological Science (APS), editor Robert J. Sternberg presents the mistakes of experts in the field as opportunities for learning, allowing students to avoid making the same mistakes in their own work.
Psychological Testing in Everyday Life: History, Science, and Practice by Karen B. (Beth) Goldfinger
ISBN: 9781483319315
Publication Date: 2018-04-12
Psychological Testing in Everyday Life explores how psychological testing is used in real-life settings to make the study of psychometrics interesting, relevant, and highly accessible. Author Karen B. Goldfinger examines a broad range of carefully selected topics to capture student interest, encourage critical thinking, and spark class discussions. Organized in the form of an applied casebook, each chapter presents the complex issues that arise when using psychological tests in a variety of settings, providing an in-depth view of psychological testing practices, historically and in the present. This unique text will support students in becoming thoughtful, informed consumers and providers of psychological assessment.
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research in Psychology by Carla Willig (Editor); Wendy Stainton Rogers (Editor)
ISBN: 9781473925212
Publication Date: 2017-08-08
One of our bestselling handbooks, The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research in Psychology, is back for a second edition. Since the first edition qualitative research in psychology has been transformed. Responding to this, existing chapters have been updated, and three new chapters introduced on Thematic Analysis, Interpretation and Netnography. With a focus on methodological progress throughout, the chapters are organised into three sections:Section One: MethodsSection Two: Perspectives and TechniquesSection Three: ApplicationsIn the field of psychology and beyond, this handbook will constitute a valuable resource for both experienced qualitative researchers and novices for many years to come.
The SAGE Handbook of Quantitative Methods in Psychology by Roger E. Millsap (Editor); Alberto Maydeu-Olivares (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412930918
Publication Date: 2009-08-05
Each chapter covers a methodological topic with equal attention paid to established theory and the challenges facing methodologists as they address new research questions using that particular methodology. The reader will come away from each chapter with a greater understanding of the methodology being addressed as well as an understanding of the directions for future developments within that methodological area.