Research Guides: Economics: Databases

What is a Database?

A library database is a searchable online collection of published works. Many publications are subscription-based (also known as paywalled) and typically require a fee to access. The library provides free full-text access to high-quality publications that would otherwise be behind a paywall. Finding and using these types of resources for your assignments is crucial to your academic success.

Resources include (but not limited to):

Peer-reviewed, scholarly articles
Book chapters
Newspaper articles
Trade publications
Dissertations and theses

Explore economics databases with descriptions and links below.

For a full list of databases subscribed to by the library, consult the Databases by Title page.

Recommended Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection
Accounting, business, corporate strategies, economic conditions, finance, management theory & techniques, trends
Journals, dissertations, working papers, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data
Business Abstracts with Full Text
Offers a multitude of business magazines and scholarly journals for conducting research or finding information in any area of business.
Business Market Research Collection
Contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research.
Business Source Complete
Full text journals in all disciplines of business, as well as major reference works, case studies, industry reports, market research reports, SWOT analyses and more.
MarketLine
MarketLine provides original industry, company, market analysis, and country reports and data based on published research and primary and secondary data sources.
Nexis Uni
Provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources; including US Supreme Court decisions since 1970.
ScienceDirect
Features full-text ebooks and journals in the biological sciences, biochemistry & genetics, molecular biology, chemistry, immunology, medicine, neuroscience, nursing, pharmacology, physics, psychology, social science, veterinary science, economics, and other disciplines.

Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals.
Asian & European Business Collection
Provides information pertinent to the study of business and finance topics across Asia and Europe, including academic journals, newspapers, newswires, and magazines.
Business Continuity & Disaster Recovery Reference Center
Covers all aspects of business continuity and disaster recovery, including risk evaluation, emergency preparedness and crisis communications.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database
Comprehensive Canadian periodical collection covering multiple subjects and topics featuring a diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, radio and television transcripts, news, dissertations, and more.
Legal Collection
Contains full text for more than 250 scholarly law journals
Legal Forms Library (Gale)
Access to authentic, professional, Texas legal documents.
Small Business Reference Center
A wide variety of information on small business and entrepreneurial subject areas, common business types, a help and advice section, and provides information on how to create business plans that lead to successful funding.
SpringerLink
Provides full-text access to hundreds of journals and ebooks covering science, medicine, humanities, and social science.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day.
Scholar Works at UT Tyler
A repository that collects, preserves, and distributes the scholarly and artistic work of the UT Tyler community; including theses and dissertations as well as submitted faculty publications. Access to some materials are restricted due to the authors' wishes.