Research Guides: Criminal Justice: Databases

What is a Database?

A library database is a searchable online collection of published works. Many publications are subscription-based (also known as paywalled) and typically require a fee to access. The library provides free full-text access to high-quality publications that would otherwise be behind a paywall. Finding and using these types of resources for your assignments is crucial to your academic success.

Resources include (but not limited to):

Peer-reviewed, scholarly articles
Book chapters
Newspaper articles
Trade publications
Dissertations and theses

Explore Criminal Justice databases with descriptions and links below.

For a full list of databases subscribed to by the library, consult the Databases by Title page.

Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals.
JSTOR
Provides full-text access to hundreds of humanities, social science, and science scholarly books and journals.
ProQuest Central
Brings together complete databases across major subject areas, including business, health and medical, language and literature, social sciences, education, science and technology, as well as core titles in the performing and visual arts, history, religion, philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
SAGE Journals
Includes more than 1000 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Science, and Science, Technology, and Medicine.
SAGE Research Methods
A tool created to help researchers explore methods concepts, help design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
Wiley Online Library
Provides full-text access to over 500 scholarly journals covering science, the humanities, medicine, and the social sciences.

Criminal Justice Database
Supports research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
Digital National Security Archive
Collection of significant primary source documents, arranged in collections, that are central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945.
Hein Online
Contains more than 145 million pages and 150,000 titles of legal history and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format.
IGI Global
Contains ebook collections on collaborative and virtual work, security and forensic science, and engineering science and technology.
Legal Collection
Contains full text for more than 250 scholarly law journals
Legal Forms Library
Access to authentic, professional, Texas legal documents.
Legal Information Reference Center
Offers everyday users the necessary tools and detailed how-to instructions covering a wide-range of legal issues.
Nexis Uni
Provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources; including US Supreme Court decisions since 1970.
Security and Forensic Science and Technology
A collection of ebooks in emerging technology areas of security and forensic science, such as cyber warfare, computational intelligence, network security attacks, and cyber security.


Like us on Facebook	Follow us on Instagram	Check us out on YouTube