Have an article DOI or PMID and want to see if the article is available? Input the DOI or PMID into the search bar above. If the article is available, you’ll simply see options for the PDF and/or the article link. If unavailable, you will still have the option to submit an Interlibrary Loan request.
A library database is a searchable online collection of published works. Many publications are subscription-based (also known as paywalled) and typically require a fee to access. The library provides free full-text access to high-quality publications that would otherwise be behind a paywall. Finding and using these types of resources for your assignments is crucial to your academic success.
Resources include (but not limited to):
Explore Communication Studies databases with descriptions and links below.
For a full list of databases subscribed to by the library, consult the Databases by Title page.
Multidisciplinary
Journal articles, conference papers, dissertations and theses, trade journals, primary sources, video content
Cross-curricular research database including pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more with periodical content covering current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.
Provides full-text access to hundreds of humanities, social science, and science scholarly books and journals.
Includes more than 1000 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Science, and Science, Technology, and Medicine.
A tool created to help researchers explore methods concepts, help design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media brings together information found in hundreds of journals. Articles cover all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature, meet the needs of researchers.
Provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format.
Search the most recent premium US news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.
Addiction, applied & clinical psychology, cognition & memory, developmental psychology, experimental psychology, health psychology, methodology, psychopharmacology, social psychology, violence & trauma
Peer reviewed journal articles, database is updated bi-weekly
AI, business, education, law, lingustics, medicine, neuroscience, pharmacology, political science, social work, sociology, sports
Abstracts / citations: books & book chapters, dissertations, peer reviewed journals
Provides nearly 575 full text publications, including nearly 550 peer-reviewed titles and covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Provides coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.