Have an article DOI or PMID and want to see if the article is available? Input the DOI or PMID into the search bar above. If the article is available, you’ll simply see options for the PDF and/or the article link. If unavailable, you will still have the option to submit an Interlibrary Loan request.
A library database is a searchable online collection of published works. Many publications are subscription-based (also known as paywalled) and typically require a fee to access. The library provides free full-text access to high-quality publications that would otherwise be behind a paywall. Finding and using these types of resources for your assignments is crucial to your academic success.
Resources include (but not limited to):
Explore History databases with descriptions and links below.
For a full list of databases subscribed to by the library, consult the Databases by Title page.
Multidisciplinary
Journal articles, conference papers, dissertations and theses, trade journals, primary sources, video content
Anthropology, education, ethnohistory, economic development, folklore, gaming industry, missions, mythology, religion, tribal government
Citations for academic journals, books, magazines, newspapers, reviews, and trade publications
Arts, business, economics, government, history, law, literature, philosophy, politics
Citations for: archives, books, newspapers, official publications, periodicals, references
Anthropology, area studies, art, art history, business, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, engineering, health sciences, history, literature & language, marketing, music, performing arts, philosophy, science & technology, social sciences
Books, images, journal articles, videos
Multidisciplinary
Case studies, dissertations, magazines, market reports, newspapers, scholarly journals, trade & professional journals, videos
Anthropology, art, education, history, music, religion, sociology
Audio field recordings & interviews, correspondence, educational recordings, field noteBooks, film footage, slides
Criminal justice, history, law, political science, public administration, religion
Hearings, legislative histories, scholarly journals, Supreme Court briefs, U.S. federal agency documents
Business, education, engineering, humanities, science, social sciences, technology
Academic journal articles published by scholarly organizations and educational institutions in Middle East & African countries
Education, history, political science, psychology, public administration, technology
Journals, news, periodicals
Communication, computer science, criminal justice, engineering, history, political science
Conference proceedings, government publications, industry & scholarly journals, magazines, technical reports, trade journals
Arts, behavioral sciences, business & economics, education, health & medical sciences, humanities, math & physical sciences, natural sciences, social sciences
Dissertations, theses
Anthropology, criminal justice, economics, education, history, political science, social sciences
Academic papers, audio, government documents, interviews, legal documents, maps, pamphlets, periodicals, photos, speeches, statistics
Anatomy & physiology, biology, chemistry, computer science, economics, engineering, finance health sciences, materials science, math, nursing, pharmacy, physics, social sciences, veterinary science
Books & chapters, journal articles, review articles, trade journals, visuals
Anthropology, criminal justice, education, history, law, political science, sociology
Books, court records, government publications, images, maps, pamphlets, testimonials, voyage logs
Anthropology, education, history, law, literature, political science, sociology
eBooks, government documents, literary works, manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals