Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History (General)

Research guide for History

History

Due to Covid-19, we will begin the semester with reduced hours:

Sunday, 1 pm - 8 pm

Monday - Thursday, 7:30 am - 8 pm

Friday, 7:30 am - 5 pm

Saturday, 9 am - 6 pm

As a reminder, the Library will be closed Monday, January 18, in observance of Martin Luther King, Jr. Day.

About This Guide

Hello! Welcome to the General History research guide at the UT Tyler library.

Use this guide to discover resources for studies in all aspects of History

  • Books, Articles & More: explains how to use the library resources, like the catalog, databases, the institutional repository, and the archives.
  • Primary Sources: About primary sources and how to find them
  • Useful Websites: directs you to reliable information sources that are freely available, including government regulations and information about professional organizations, with a focus on primary sources.
  • Book Reviews: links to book review sources and places to find information about authors.
  • Theses and Dissertations: where to find full-text dissertations and theses, as well as citations.  Also a list of all of the history theses produced at The University of Texas at Tyler.
  • Maps and Atlases: links to databases and collections with historic maps, and locations of maps and atlases at Muntz Library.
  • Microform Collections information on Microform sets in the Muntz Library.
  • Archives: information on UT Tyler's University Archives and Special Collections.
  • Monuments: Information about monuments and landmarks in the United States
  • Writing & Citing: contains information about writing for papers, presentations, and other media you may use to share your research, as well as information about citing your work.
  • Distance Services: provides information about library services for those students who do not attend classes at the UT Tyler main campus, and tips for using our resources from off campus.
  • Information for Faculty: has information for faculty about ways librarians can assist in both class research assignments, and for faculty research outside the classroom.

If you have questions, comments, or suggestions for this guide, please contact the librarian!


There are also specialized research guides for

African American History

American Civil War

American South:  HIST 4322

Antebellum America ("The Age of Jackson")--Primary Sources

Britain and its Empire--17th Century

Community History

European History from the French Revolution

Reconstruction, 1865-1877

Tudor England

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Follow us on Instagram