Research Guides: Black History Month: Researching Black History

Where to Search

African American Communities This link opens in a new window
The African American experience in major urban centers and North Carolina, marked by both adversity and cultural vibrancy
African American Historical Serials Collection This link opens in a new window
An archive of periodicals documenting the history of African American religious life and culture between 1829 and 1922; including newspapers and magazines, plus reports and annuals from African American religious organizations, including churches and social service agencies.
African American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This collection contains a wealth of information about African American cultural life and history and the abolition movement during the 1800’s and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day. The collection also provides a great number of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements embodying the African American experience.
Border and Migration Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Videos, primary sources, reports, monographs, and photos, representing both personal and institutional perspectives, providing historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas.
History Vault NAACP Papers 1-6 This link opens in a new window
Covers nearly 2 million pages of internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries providing a comprehensive view of events from 1909-1970.
Race Relations in America This link opens in a new window
Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, showcasing the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by Fisk University's Race Relations Department.
Sociology Database This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies.
Texas Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search 43 historical Texas newspapers, with coverage dating from the 1800s.

New York Times This link opens in a new window
A source of reporting, information and opinion, covering politics, finance, health, science, culture, the arts, sports, and fashion in the US and abroad, with special emphasis on the New York metropolitan area.
To create your account.
Step 1: On campus or from the virtual desktop navigate to https://nytimesineducation.com/access-nyt/
Step 2: Search for and click the listing for "University of Texas at Tyler"
Step 3: Click Create Account and complete registration fields

Existing New York Times ID
If you have previously registered your email address on The New York Times site, you will click the "Already have an account" "Log in here" link (below the "Create Account" button) in Step 3.
Annual Renewal Required
You will be required to renew your account every year.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources; including US Supreme Court decisions since 1970.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Search the most recent premium US news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.

Black Past
"an online reference center makes available a wealth of materials on African American history in one central location on the Internet."
Civil Rights Movement Archive
National Archives
National Museum of African American History and Culture
Umbra.org
umbrasearch.org brings together hundreds of thousands digitized materials from over 1,000 libraries and archives across the country.

Additional Research Guides

Find more databases, websites, and other resources on these related research guides.


Like us on Facebook	Follow us on Instagram	Check us out on YouTube

Black History Month: Researching Black History

Where to Search

Additional Research Guides

Black History in Texas