Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Black History Month
"Black History Month, or National African American History Month, is an annual celebration of achievements by black Americans and a time for recognizing the central role of African Americans in U.S. history. The event grew out of “Negro History Week,” the brainchild of noted historian Carter G. Woodson and other prominent African Americans. Since 1976, every U.S. president has officially designated the month of February as Black History Month. Other countries around the world, including Canada and the United Kingdom, also devote a month to celebrating black history."
Black History: Then and Now
Black History Month evolved from "Negro History Week". Dr. Carter G. Woodson spear headed a movement to discover and reveal outstanding achievements of the Negro race. In 1915 Dr. Woodson, Jesse Moorland, and the Association for the Study of Negro Life and History. Dr. Woodson stated: "If a race has no history, it has no worthwhile tradition, it becomes a negligible factor in the thought of the world, and it stands in danger of being exterminated." In 1926, "Negro History Week" began. Dr. Woodson chose the second week in February, because it included both Frederick Douglass' and Abraham Lincoln's birthday.
Today, Black History month is celebrated all over the United States and even some other countries such as Canada and the United Kingdom.
Information on ARTstor's collection of African American artwork and collections in honor of Black History Month.
Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals.
ACLS Humanities E-book
A digital collection of over 5,400 full-text titles in the humanities and related social sciences.
Contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
The National Archives
The National Archives holds a wealth of material documenting the African American experience, and highlights these resources online, in programs, and via traditional and social media.
The Smithsonian makes available numerous images, exhibitions, stories, videos, and other resources pertaining to Black American History.
Library of Congress
The Library of Congress houses an excellent digital collection pertaining to Black American History. It includes performing arts, oral histories, transcripts, photos, manuscripts and much more.
, Health Care Administration
, Political Science
, Public Administration
, Social Sciences
From the National Archives
The Autobiography of Malcolm X by
Publication Date: 1969-05-12
Chronicles the life and work of one of the most influential members of the civil rights movement in the United States.
Sojourner Truth's America by
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
In an in-depth account of this amazing activist, Margaret Washington unravels Sojourner Truth's world within the broader panorama of African American slavery and the nation's most significant reform era.
The Fires of Jubilee by
Publication Date: 1990
The bloody slave rebellion led by Nat Turner in Virginia in 1831 and the savage reprisals that followed shattered beyond repair the myth of the contented slave and the benign master, and intensified the forces of change that would plunge America into the bloodbath of the Civil War.
Harriet Tubman by
Publication Date: 2005-01-05
The definitive biography of one of the most courageous women in American history "reveals Harriet Tubman to be even more remarkable than her legend" (Newsday). Celebrated for her exploits as a conductor on the Underground Railroad, Harriet Tubman has entered history as one of nineteenth-century America's most enduring and important figures.
These books are available electronically through the Library catalog.
These books are available in the Muntz library.