Research Guides: Social Work: Databases

Library Databases

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Contains nearly 2.4 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text for more than 1,300 nursing & allied health journals.
Family Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Cross-curricular research database including pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more with periodical content covering current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 1000 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Science, and Science, Technology, and Medicine.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
A tool created to help researchers explore methods concepts, help design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes thousands of serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts, and its companion file Social Services Abstracts, cover the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
Sociology Database This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies.

Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
Supports research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
Hein Online This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 145 million pages and 150,000 titles of legal history and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format.
Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains full text for more than 250 scholarly law journals

APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals, including 48 published by the American Psychological Association (APA).
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Contains nearly 2.4 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts: Volume 1 This link opens in a new window
Contains real transcripts of therapy and counseling sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and its treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material.
Counseling and Therapy in Video This link opens in a new window
A first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice, which provides a thorough grounding in dozens of therapeutic methods and diagnoses, insight into the human condition, and training in skills such as reflection and empathy while working with specific populations such as veterans and teens.
Gender: Identity and Social Change This link opens in a new window
Primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides nearly 575 full text publications, including nearly 550 peer-reviewed titles and covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 1000 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Science, and Science, Technology, and Medicine.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
A tool created to help researchers explore methods concepts, help design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to hundreds of humanities, social science, and science scholarly books and journals.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Features full-text ebooks and journals in the biological sciences, biochemistry & genetics, molecular biology, chemistry, immunology, medicine, neuroscience, nursing, pharmacology, physics, psychology, social science, veterinary science, economics, and other disciplines.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Collection of journal articles in the fields of social science, humanities, science, technology, and medicine.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the world's leading citation databases, with coverage from nearly 9,300 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access Journals. Current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage dating back to 1965.

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Contains nearly 2.4 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text for more than 1,300 nursing & allied health journals.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
The Education Resources Information Center contains more than 1.6 million records and links to more than 631,000 full-text documents.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) This link opens in a new window
Feature material on unpublished information-gathering tools for clinicians that are discussed in journal articles, such as questionnaires, interview schedules, tests, checklists, rating and other scales, coding schemes, and projective techniques.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.

Scholar Works at UT Tyler This link opens in a new window
A repository that collects, preserves, and distributes the scholarly and artistic work of the UT Tyler community; including theses and dissertations as well as submitted faculty publications. Access to some materials are restricted due to the authors' wishes.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day.


Like us on Facebook	Follow us on Instagram	Check us out on YouTube