Skip to Main Content

Children's Literature: Awards

This is the research guide for Children's Literature.


Caldecott Medal & Honor Books, 1938-PresentThe Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. 


Newberry Medal & Honor Books, 1922-PresentThe Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Coretta Scott King

Coretta Scott King Award recipients, 1970-Present -given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.  The award commemorates the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and honors his wife, Mrs. Coretta Scott King, for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood.    

Pura Belpre

Pura Belpre Award winners, 1996-PresentThe Pura Belpré Award, established in 1996, is presented to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.

Texas BlueBonnet

Texas Bluebonnet Award is a unique program that encourages reading for pleasure and is aimed at students in grades 3-6.Each year, 20 books are chosen as the “Texas Bluebonnet Award Master List” by the TBA selection committee. If students read a minimum of five books from the current master list (or have the books read aloud to them), they have the opportunity to vote for their favorite title during the month of January each year. The author of the book receiving the most votes statewide is declared the winner of the Texas Bluebonnet Award.  

Batchelder Award

Batchelder Award winners, 1968-PresentThe Batchelder Award is given to the most outstanding children’s book originally published in a language other than English in a country other than the United States, and subsequently translated into English for publication in the United States.

Margaret A Edwards Award

Margaret A. Edwards Award, established in 1988, honors an author, as well as a specific body of his or her work, for significant and lasting contribution to young adult literature.

Scott O'Dell Historical Fiction Award

Scott O'Dell Award goes to an author for a meritorious book published in the previous year for children or young adults focused on historical fiction. 

Orbis Pictus Award

Orbis Pictus Award -was established in 1989 for promoting and recognizing excellence in the writing of nonfiction for children. The name Orbis Pictus, commemorates the work of Johannes Amos Comenius, Orbis Pictus—The World in Pictures(1657), considered to be the first book actually planned for children.

American Indian Youth Literature Award-

American Indian Youth Literature Award-the AIYLA identifies and honors the very best writing and illustrations by Native Americans and Indigenous peoples of North America. 

Schneider Family Book Awards

The Schneider Family Book Awards honor an author or illustrator for a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences.

Stonewall Award

Stonewall Book: Mike Morgan and Larry Romans Children’s and Young Adult Literature Award is the first and most enduring award for GLBT books. Sponsored by the American Library Association's Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table in 1971, many books have been honored for exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender experience written for children.

Laura Ingals Wilder

Laura Ingalls Wildre Award winners, 1954-Present -The Wilder Award honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.

Carnegie Medal

Carnegie Medal Winners, 1991-PresentThe Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Children's Video, was awarded for the first time in 1991 to honor outstanding video productions for children released during the previous year. 

Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal

Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal and Honor Books, 2001-PresentThe Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal is awarded annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished informational book published in the United States in English during the preceding year.

Geisel Award

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award & Honor winners, 2006-Present-  The Geisel Award is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year.

Michael Printz Award

Michael L. Printz Award annually honors the best book written for teens, based entirely on its literary merit, each year.

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Instagram

Check us out on YouTube