Research Guides: Graduate Nursing Library Guide: Databases

Learn More About the Databases

Resources for further exploration.

CINAHL Basic Searching Tutorial
This EBSCO created video (and PowerPoint link) demonstrates the basic searching features.
How to Search the Cochrane Library
Medline Database Description
PubMed Online Training

Keep in mind that the "Selected Databases" list below focuses on nursing, health science, and biomedical topics. For interdisciplinary topics, check out our full list of databases!

Selected Databases

The Selected Databases list focuses on nursing, health science, and biomedical topics.

CINAHL Complete
Provides full-text for more than 1,300 nursing & allied health journals.
Cochrane Library
A collection of databases that include full-text systematic reviews, as well as other sources of information such as other systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations, and individual clinical trials.
Gale Onefile: Health And Medicine
Full text nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources.
Gale Health and Wellness
Offers 24/7 access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Health & Medical Collection
Comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, as well as the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets.
MEDLINE
Provides citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals covering all areas of medicine.
Nursing & Allied Health Database
Comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
OvidSP
Provides full-text access to over 80 scholarly journals covering nursing, medicine, and health sciences. To see the available full-text content, click on Additional Limits and check Ovid Full Text Available.
Psychotherapy.net
A library of over 300 training videos featuring the leading practitioners in the field.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Scopus
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Web of Science
Provides access to the world's leading citation databases, with coverage from nearly 9,300 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access Journals. Current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage dating back to 1965.

UpToDate
Evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource that assists clinicians with point-of-care decisions.

Download & Install UpToDate On Your Device

Select UpToDate from the database list
It may auto-land you on the Registration form. If it does, simply follow the prompts to create your our free UpToDate account
If it doesn’t click the Register button (upper right of screen), complete the online application, click the Send Verification Code button, then go to your email and follow the prompts.
Once you have your account, here is a link to instructions for downloading the app from the APP Store or Google Play: https://www.wolterskluwer.com/en/solutions/uptodate/uptodate/mobile
Here is a short video tutorial for installation, setup, and usage:

Renewing UpToDate Access

Select UpToDate from the database list.
Select the Sign In option (top right corner)
On the sign in page, BELOW the user/password boxes, select OpenAthens.
You should be taken to a “Find your institution” page.
Start typing Tyler – University of Texas – Tyler should come up as an option.
Select it.
Next, a pop-up box with “Choose how to sign-in” will come up.
Select University of Texas at Tyler
Now use your UTTyler Sign in credentials.
This should effectively “renew” your subscription.

Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile)
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health provides access to authoritative content including full-text titles cited in CINAHL supporting specialized care, treatment, and patient management. This essential resource is versatile and features highlighting and note-taking tools as well as an intuitive interface, providing multiple pathways to key information. Updated daily, this resource will help nursing professionals already working in the field, as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.

Additional Databases

This section contains recommended databases in the most commonly requested topical areas outside of nursing/health sciences.

Additional Databases Listing

Anatomy.TV
Powered by Primal Pictures, view a complete and medically accurate 3D model of the human anatomy.
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine (Gale OneFile)
Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. The database offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.
SPORTDiscus with Fulltext
Provides full text for 415 sports and sports medicine journals.

Consumer Health Complete
Provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary and holistic medicine.
Consumer Health Database
Includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.

APA PsycARTICLES
Contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals, including 48 published by the American Psychological Association (APA).
APA PsycINFO
Contains nearly 2.4 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts
Contains real transcripts of therapy and counseling sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and its treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material.
Counseling and Therapy in Video
A first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice, which provides a thorough grounding in dozens of therapeutic methods and diagnoses, insight into the human condition, and training in skills such as reflection and empathy while working with specific populations such as veterans and teens.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Provides nearly 575 full text publications, including nearly 550 peer-reviewed titles and covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Psychology (Gale OneFile)
Gale OneFile: Psychology provides access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.
Psychology Database
Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
Psychotherapy.net
A library of over 300 training videos featuring the leading practitioners in the field.
Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts, and its companion file Social Services Abstracts, cover the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
Sociology Database
Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies.

Educational Administration Abstracts
Includes bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Educational Science and Technology
A collection of ebooks in emerging technology areas of education, such as blended learning, gaming, and learning analytics.
Education Database
Supports the study and application of education across all levels of education, including early childhood education, primary and secondary education, and higher education.
Education Source
Coverage of all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing with full-text for more than 1,800 journals.
Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile)
Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete is a collection of journals & periodicals that seeks to provide full text for titles in the ERIC database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty—such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.
ERIC
The Education Resources Information Center contains more than 1.6 million records and links to more than 631,000 full-text documents.
Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, this database provides 520 education journals as well as more than 200 educational reports.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
Gale eBooks - General Reference
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
Feature material on unpublished information-gathering tools for clinicians that are discussed in journal articles, such as questionnaires, interview schedules, tests, checklists, rating and other scales, coding schemes, and projective techniques.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
A comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.

Alt HealthWatch
Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness with full text articles for more than 180 international journals and reports.
Natural & Alternative Treatments
Contains detailed information on more than 180 different conditions and the conventional and natural treatments used to treat them, over 200 herbs and supplements, plus drug-herb and drug-supplement interactions for more than 75 drug categories.

Academic Video Online‎
Curated, discipline-focused, primary-source collections, websites, and streaming media for learning and research.
Counseling and Therapy in Video
A first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice, which provides a thorough grounding in dozens of therapeutic methods and diagnoses, insight into the human condition, and training in skills such as reflection and empathy while working with specific populations such as veterans and teens.
PBS Video Collection: Fourth Edition
More than 1,200 streaming videos of documentaries and series from PBS; with a range of content from science to history, art to Shakespeare, diversity to business and economics, and more.
Psychotherapy.net
A library of over 300 training videos featuring the leading practitioners in the field.

Graduate Nursing Library Guide

Muntz Library provides access hundreds of databases!

Select the image below to explore our entire database collection.

Liaison Librarian for Nursing, Pharmacy, & Health Professions