Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CHEM 3370: Perspectives

The Library Website

One of the most common questions we get is: Where do I start?

SwoopSearch

Search for books, articles, media, and more

Advanced Search

Databases by Title || Journals by Title || Research Guides by Subject

This will depend on how much you already know about your subject and what type of resources you need.

Above is a working copy of the search box from our library website, also known as Swoop Search. Swoop Search is what we call a discovery search box, meaning that it's set up to search most of the library's resources at one time, as well as giving you the ability to search outside of our holdings. If you're unfamiliar with your topic, or if you're unsure exactly which subject area it falls under, this is a great place to start. Your results may be books, journal articles, newspaper articles, theses or dissertations, book reviews, you name it! Once you've run your general search, use the filters on the results screen to narrow down your choices. You can also click on Advanced Search to do a targeted search across multiple types of resources.

If you're already pretty familiar with your topic, or if you have a citation you're trying to track down, use the Databases by Title or Journals by Title links to go straight to those resources. You can also find this guide and others on the Research Guides by Subject link!

The Stacks & Beyond

The collection of books held by a library is typically called "The Stacks". At Robert R. Muntz, those stacks are located on the 3rd floor. and includes nearly 80,000 volumes. Students can check out books for three weeks, and renew once if there are no holds on the item.


The library also has a reference collection housed on the 2nd Floor. Reference books can't be checked out, but you can scan or copy portions of the book. Please respect copyright laws! In most instances, you are allowed to copy roughly 10% of the total document. Engineering Reference Books are part of the collection. They contain definitions, constants, and other information. Some are available both as reference texts, and as circulating books. 

The faculty and past graduates of the College of Engineering also write! You can browse the Institutional Repository for theses, dissertations, articles, and conference presentations submitted by faculty and graduate students. Maybe you'll find your own work there some day! 

WorldCat  is a global catalog of books you may find useful. You can search for subjects to see if there are great books waiting at a neighboring library, or check the holdings at another library for that one perfect book you need for your research. If Muntz Library doesn't have it, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan. You can also get a TexShare card to borrow books from other Texas universities.


Our eBook Collection provides an excellent way to access information 24 hours a day, from anywhere with an internet connection. However, it seems no two publishers or distributors have the same rules for how you can access their content. This makes using eBooks a challenge for library users. The guidelines below provide a quick overview for how to access eBooks that are useful for the engineering sciences.

Generally, it is easiest to access eBooks on you browser - simply find the book in the catalog or database, open it, and start reading! However, many people prefer to check out the book and download it to a tablet or ereading device. If so, you may have to create an account for the database provider. Although you don't have to, you may find it easiest to use your UT Tyler credentials to create those accounts, as your access will end when you leave school.

Please note that some of our eBook databases are demand-driven. That means that you will find books that we don't have access to immediately, but you can submit a request and we may purchase the book. This shouldn't take long, so don't despair! If you have an eBook problem, please contact your librarian.

LoC Classifications

Like most academic libraries, the Robert R. Muntz Library collection is organized by the Library of Congress classification system. This means that books are shelved according to subjects, much like a book store would be, but those topics are called by a letter/number combination, rather than a name. This allows for more granularity in topics. For instance, you may look in section "C" for "Auxiliary Sciences of History (General)", but you may be only interested in subclass "CB3-482 History of Civilization", or more specifically, "CB478 (History of Civilization in Relation to Special Topics) Technology". 

Why do you need to know that? Well, if you're just browsing for books in a certain topic, it's nice to have an idea where to go.You can find all classifications listed on the Library of Congress website.

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Follow us on Instagram