Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Graduate Nursing - New Cohort Library Orientation

Searching the Library Catalog

For tips on searching the catalog for books, see the Using the Library page of this guide (Library Catalog tab) .

eBooks

Most books in our health and nursing collections are available electronically. We purchase eBooks from a variety of vendors. Viewing options will vary. You can locate ebooks in our collection by searching SwoopSearch, the Library Catalog or by search through a particular vendors database (like the two listed below).  

Searching in WorldCat

WorldCat is a catalog of libraries worldwide. While our Library Catalog shows what books are in our Library, WorldCat will reveal what is available in other libraries and provides an easy link to "Borrow from Another Library". You can pull up WorldCat using Databases by Title or through the link below:

You should be taken directly to the Advanced Search Screen

Screenshot of WorldCat Advanced Search Screen

 

1.  Numerous options to search including by Keyword, Subject, Title, Author, ISBN number and more

2.  Limit by Year or Language

3.  Limit by type of material (i.e. Books)

4.  Additional subtype limiters for audience, content, and format

5.  You can also limit to only items available at our library

 

Screenshots from WorldCat showing an example of a book in our local collection and an example of a book we do not have in our local collection. Click the title of the item to open the full record.

Screenshot from WorldCat showing an example of an item record

 

 

1. Information about the item such as date, edition, etc.

2. If we had the item in our local collection, "The University of Texas at Tyler" would be listed here the same as in the example above. If it was an item in our collection, you could "Search the catalog at UT Tyler" to get local information about the item.

3. "Borrow from Another Library" takes you to the login for your Interlibrary Loan account. After you login, all you need to do is complete and submit the request form. 

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Follow us on Instagram