Research Guides: Political Science: Maps and Atlases

Online Maps

Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1870
Fire insurance maps of towns and communities, 1885-1955, Texas and other Southern states, showing and identifying streets, buildings, utilities, etc.
Texas General Land Office Historic Map Collection
More than 50,000 maps, sketches, and documents dating from as early as the 1820s. There are manuscript and printed maps showing Texas, its counties, cities, railroad routes, colonies, forts, Indian villages, large ranches, waterways, and other features
Portal to Texas History
Over 80,000 maps of Texas, including county soil survey maps of the early 1900s. These may be enlarged and manipulated. On the search screen limit Type to Image--Map.
Library of Congress--Collections with Maps
Maps from 1500 to the present, mostly of the US, including panoramic maps and the Jedidiah Hotchkiss Civil War map collection.
Cartographic Connections--UT Arlington
76 historic maps from the UTA collection, many focusing on Texas.
Maps at the Texas State Library
A searchable database to descriptions of over 8,000 maps. Digital images of some 700 maps are also accessible through this database.
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection (UT-Austin)
Vast collection of online historical, climatic, population, industrial, military, and other maps.

Atlases and Maps in the UT Tyler Library

The UT Tyler Library owns a complete set of Texas topographical maps which are mounted but uncataloged, located in University Archives and Special Collections, LIB 107.

Larger atlases are housed in the Oversize collection on the third floor of the Library. All are in the catalog.


Like us on Facebook	Follow us on Instagram	Check us out on YouTube