Skip to Main Content
Professional Organizations
American Physical Society
From the site: Working to advance and diffuse the knowledge of physics through its outstanding research journals, scientific meetings, and education, outreach, advocacy, and international activities.
American Astronomical Society
From the site: Enhance and share humanity's scientific understanding of the universe as a diverse and inclusive astronomical community.
Society of Physics Students
From the site: SPS is a chapter based society that exists to help students transform themselves into contributing members of the professional community.
International Astronomical Union
From the site: Promote & safeguard astronomy in all its aspects (including research, communication, education & development) through international cooperation.
AAAS Entry Point
From the site: Encourage and develop talent among undergrad and grad students with disabilities who have demonstrated an interest in pursuing a STEM career.
AISES (American Indian Science and Engineering Society)
From the site: AISES is a national nonprofit organization focused on substantially increasing the representation of Indigenous peoples of North America and the Pacific Islands in science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) studies and careers.
AWIS (Association for Women in Science)
From the site: To ensure that all women in science can achieve their full potential. AWIS champions the interests of women in science across all disciplines and employment sectors.
BIT (Blacks in Technology)
From the site: Our goal and mission is to “stomp the divide” between Black tech workers and to fundamentally influence and effect change on an industry that has historically not sought parity with respect to Black workers. Our intent is to level the playing field through training, education, networking, and mentorship with the support of allies, partners, sponsors, and most importantly our global members.
Professional Organizations
I-STEM: Elevating High-Potential Disability Talent into Successful Careers
From the site: Our mission: We identify, support and connect high-potential students with disabilities and recent graduates to high-growth opportunities, break existing stereotypes, and prepare them to mentor the next generation of disability talent. Simultaneously, we work with educational institutes, corporates, governments and other non-profits to provide technology-enabled accommodations and support to enable our community to realize their potential.
MAES (Latinos in Science and Engineering (originally Mexican American Engineering Society))
From the site: To promote, cultivate, and advance representation of Latino leadership and education in STEM.
NSBP (National Society of Black Physicists)
From the site: The organization seeks to develop and support efforts to increase opportunities for African Americans in physics and to increase their numbers and visibility of their scientific work. It also seeks to develop activities and programs that highlight and enhance the benefits of the scientific contributions that African American physicists provide for the international community. The society seeks to raise the general knowledge and appreciation of physics in the African American community.
NSF INCLUDES (National Science Foundation Inclusion Across the Nation of Communities of Learners of Underrepresented Discoverers in Engineering and Science)
From the site: The INCLUDES National Network uses collaborative infrastructure to accelerate and enhance the preparation, participation, and contributions of historically excluded populations in STEM—including Blacks and African Americans, Alaska Natives, Hispanics and Latinos, Native Americans, Native Hawaiians, Native Pacific Islanders, persons with disabilities, persons from economically-disadvantaged backgrounds, women and girls, as well as intersectional identities.
NSHP (National Society of Hispanic Physicists)
From the site: Promote the professional well-being and recognize the accomplishments of Hispanic physicists within the scientific community of the United States and within society at large.
The Society seeks to develop and support efforts to increase opportunities for Hispanics in physics and to increase the number of practicing Hispanic physicists, particularly by encouraging Hispanic students to enter a career in physics.
oSTEM (Out in STEM)
From the site: oSTEM empowers LGBTQ+ people in STEM to succeed personally, academically, and professionally by cultivating environments and communities that nurture innovation, leadership, and advocacy.
SASE (Society of Asian Scientists and Engineers)
From the site: SASE is dedicated to the advancement of Asian heritage scientists and engineers in education and employment so that they can achieve their full career potential.
Government Information
US Department of Energy - Physics
From the site: The mission of the Energy Department is to ensure America’s security and prosperity by addressing its energy, environmental and nuclear challenges through transformative science and technology solutions.
NIST (National Institute of Standards and Technology- Physics)
From the site: Physics research at NIST includes everything from improving the safety of medical radiation procedures to developing future "quantum information" technologies that generate unbreakable codes. NIST provides the measurements, standards, and technical expertise scientists and industries need to push the limits of the fundamental properties of nature.
NSF (US National Science Foundation)
From the site: We support explorations of matter, energy and time and how they interact to shape the physical world.
National Quantum Initiative
From the site: The National Quantum Initiative (NQI) is a whole-of-government approach to ensuring the continued leadership of the U.S. in QIS and its technology applications.
Websites
INSPIRE HEP - Discover High-Energy Physics Content
Discover articles, conference papers, journals, authors, jobs, seminars, and more related to high-energy physics.
NASA ADS (Astrophysics Data System)
From the site: The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a digital library portal for researchers in astronomy and physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant.
ADS maintains three bibliographic collections containing more than 15 million records covering publications in astronomy and astrophysics, physics, and general science, including all arXiv e-prints. Abstracts and full-text of major astronomy and physics publications are indexed and searchable through the new ADS modern search form as well as a classic search form.
National Nuclear Data Center
From the site: The National Nuclear Data Center (NNDC) collects, evaluates, and disseminates nuclear physics data for basic nuclear research and applied nuclear technologies. The NNDC is a worldwide resource for nuclear data. The information available to the users of NNDC services is the product of the combined efforts of the NNDC and cooperating data centers and other interested groups, both in the United States and worldwide.
