The UASC collections database, which holds detailed descriptions of our archival collections.
The University Archives materials document the teaching, research, administrative functions, and services of the University, from the inception of Tyler State College to the present University of Texas at Tyler. The UASC collects official archival records of the University, as stated in the Texas State Records Retention Schedule, and also those materials that represent the historical, cultural, and educational significance of UT Tyler. University Archives collections include (but are not limited to) the Marketing and Communications Records, theBoard of Regents Records, and papers of the first President of the University, the James H. Stewart, Jr. Papers.
Special Collections at the UASC include manuscript collections, rare books, maps, paintings, and other materials that represent the history of the surrounding community. These materials serve to document the importance of the history and influence of Tyler and Smith County and, as appropriate, collections that may be national. They include theSarah McClendon Papers, the Harold McKenzie Papers, the Billy Williamson Papers, and the Judge William Steger Papers. Through an agreement with the Texas State Library and Archives Commission (TSLAC), the UASC also houses the records and papers of former Texas Lieutenant Governor Bill Ratliff. In addition, the Tim Anthony Jackson Collection is the UASC's largest collection, comprising of over 12,000 Presidential campaign memorabilia items ranging from 1884-2013.