Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the Library Catalog
Use the box below to do a quick keyword search. For more options (advanced search) just click the search button before entering anything in the box.
The Robert R. Muntz Library offers thousands of books, available in print and electronic formats. If you know you're specifically looking for books, use Advanced Search to narrow your topic by material type.
Circulating print books (ones you can check out) are available in the 3rd floor stacks, to the right when you go up the stairs. If you'd like to browse, we do use the Library of Congress Classification system, and there is a poster with an outline of the subjects by letter on the 3rd floor. Most of the books on education will fall in Class L. Specific areas of study are LC (Special Education). The library does carry reference, or books that can't be checked out, on the 2nd floor.
Our eBooks are spread over many collections and unfortunately, few of the providers seem to agree on a way to provide electronic content for libraries. You can do a search in our main search box (See: Books, Articles & More tab), or look in specific eBook collections. The best bets for eBooks are:
A selection of scholarly and professional ebooks from all disciplines.
NOTE: To copy, print, download a chapter and/or to request the book, you will be asked to login with your Patriots credentials, even when on campus.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Contains recently-published scholarly and professional ebooks from all disciplines.
Provides full-text access to hundreds of humanities, social science, and science scholarly books and journals.
Provides full-text access to hundreds of journals and ebooks covering science, medicine, humanities, and social science.
Wiley Online Library
Provides full-text access to over 500 scholarly journals covering science, the humanities, medicine, and the social sciences.
Some publishers allow you to discover books from their collection that UT Tyler does not own. If you come across such a title, please contact your librarian to see if we can purchase the book, or if we can get it for you through Interlibrary Loan.
This is a selection of reference ebooks relevant to education. They provide information on theories, concepts, definitions, statistics, etc. They come from our subscription-based ebook collections. Reminder: If you are trying to access these ebooks outside of campus, you will be prompted to log in.
Child Development by
Call Number: HQ772 .C455 2002
Publication Date: 2003-10-01
Covers human development from conception through adolescence, summarizing the latest research on physical, cognitive, social and emotional development and behavior, including areas of law, medicine, psychiatry, and demography among others.
Early Childhood and Special Education by
Publication Date: 2014-07-11
Some chapters focus on interventions for the child, and others on training for the parents and professionals. The combination of current information and evidence contained in these chapters includes an emphasis on the importance of supporting families with different linguistic and cultural backgrounds, and indicates how team support (including families as part of the team) is crucial for these children. Parents of children with special needs may have their own challenges and this may create an additional need for support and resources for the family and the professional. The dynamic interaction between provider or teacher, theoretical approaches and curriculum used, and the child's individual needs is what maximizes the impact of any intervention. The information is useful for early care and preschool teachers, early intervention providers, therapists, psychologists and administrators.
Encyclopedia of Education by
Call Number: LB15 .E539 2003
Publication Date: 2004
"Offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles, and philosophies in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world."
Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration by
Call Number: LB2805 .E539 2006
Publication Date: 2006
"With over 600 entries, written by more than 200 professors, graduate students, practitioners, and association officials, the two volumes of this Encyclopedia represent a comprehensive knowledge base of educational leadership and school administration."
Special Education by
Call Number: LC 3981 S33 2009
Publication Date: 2009-02-09
A reference work that presents a chronology focusing on special education, its development, and the important issues that both positively and negatively affect the field. Updated through current events, this edition provides an excellent introduction to special education in all of its practical aspects-how it developed, its curriculum, assessment issues, the law, and advocacy.
WorldCat is the ultimate catalog containing information about library holdings all over the world. If you cannot find the material you need in the UT Tyler Catalog, try WorldCat.
If you are a distance student, you can have both our print books and books from other libraries delivered to your house. Just use InterLibrary Loan.
Found a book or an article that we do not own? Fill out an Interlibrary Loan form and we will get it for you.
Are you a Distance Student who never gets to the UT Tyler Library? Have you found the citation to a book you need that is at Muntz Library or elsewhere? No problem!
If you are based in Longview or Palestine, your book will be taken to the library over there. You do not need to come to Tyler to pick it up. Return it there by the due date and it will be sent back to Tyler.
If you are an internet or other distance student,
- when you set up your Interlibrary Loan account be sure to list your Delivery Location as UT Tyler Distance/Internet,
- Preferred Article Delivery Method = Home Delivery for Distance/Internet Students,
- Preferred Loan Delivery Method = Distance/Internet Students.
We will mail your books to your home. When you return the book, you will have a pre-paid postage stamp on the envelope, which you can drop off at the nearest Post Office. See the Need Help? tab in this research guide for more information on Interlibrary Loan.