Research Guides: ENGL 4320/ 5323- The Romantic Period & Studies in Romanticism: Databases

Literature Databases

Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals.
JSTOR
Provides full-text access to hundreds of humanities, social science, and science scholarly books and journals.
WorldCat
A catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day.
ProQuest Central
Brings together complete databases across major subject areas, including business, health and medical, language and literature, social sciences, education, science and technology, as well as core titles in the performing and visual arts, history, religion, philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
Periodicals Archive Online
An archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.

ACLS Humanities E-book
A digital collection of over 5,400 full-text titles in the humanities and related social sciences.
American Periodicals
Contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
ArticleFirst
An index of the tables of contents of over 16,000 journals as well as a list of libraries that have the journal title.
ARTstor
NOTE: As of August 2024, ARTstor is now integrated with JSTOR. This link currently redirects you to the new website, but soon you will just link to JSTOR.
A digital library of approximately 550,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment
Contains 1,482 authors and over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale Primary Sources)
Full-text for 150,000 books published during the 18th Century covering the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
Essay and General Literature Index
Cites records contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada.
Gerritsen Women's History Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs
A full-text collection of books, periodicals, and pamphlets focused on women's history in the world.
HarpWeek-Harper's Weekly (1857-1912)
Provides electronic access to Harper’s Weekly, the illustrated 19th century "Journal of Civilization," for a 56-year period: 1857-1912.
Humanities Full Text
Provides full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines.
Literary Reference Source
Provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
Literature Criticism (Gale)
Search both Children's Literature Review and Short Story Criticism.
MLA Directory of Periodicals
Offers detailed information on over 7,100 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
Includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information, so providing a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters.
OED: Oxford English Dictionary
Online access to the definitive record of the English language, a guide to the meaning, history and pronunciation of 600,000 words. Revised and new entries each quarter.
Oxford Academic
Provides full-text for over 190 scholarly journals covering the humanities, law, life and physical sciences, mathematics, medicine, and the social sciences.
Salem Literature
Online access to Magill’s Literary Annuals from 1977 to present.
Short Story Index
Provides detailed indexing for hundreds of thousands of short stories for readers seeking short stories by author or genre, or for those researching a body of work of a literary figure.
Twentieth-Century American Poetry
Includes 50,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets.
Web of Science
Provides access to the world's leading citation databases, with coverage from nearly 9,300 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access Journals. Current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage dating back to 1965.

wordcat Identities
Provides author information such as works, subject headings, roles, genres, publication time line, alternative names, biographical information, Most widely held works about, and publication information on the authored works.

Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2
Presents thematic content focusing on the evolution of Hispanic civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries.
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1
Presenting a digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture in its written form since colonial times until 1960.
ARTstor
NOTE: As of August 2024, ARTstor is now integrated with JSTOR. This link currently redirects you to the new website, but soon you will just link to JSTOR.
A digital library of approximately 550,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
British Periodicals
Access to hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth; topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Contains virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale Primary Sources)
Full-text for 150,000 books published during the 18th Century covering the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index forms the bibliographic spine of 19th century research, comprising tens of millions of records and providing integrated access to the most important finding aids for books, periodicals, official publications, newspapers, archives, and reference material. Users can query its many component indexes simultaneously or can conduct more detailed research using search pages for specific indexes or content types.
Essay and General Literature Index
Cites records contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada.
Gale eBooks
Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Gerritsen Women's History Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs
A full-text collection of books, periodicals, and pamphlets focused on women's history in the world.
Latin America & Iberia Database
Full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Latin American countries, Spain, and Portugal; major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
Latin American Women Writers
An extensive searchable collection of prose, poetry, and drama composed by women writing in Mexico, Central America, and South America including essays by Latin American feminists and revolutionaries.
Literary Reference Source
Provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
Literature Criticism (Gale)
Search both Children's Literature Review and Short Story Criticism.
MLA Directory of Periodicals
Offers detailed information on over 7,100 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography.
MLA Directory of Periodicals
Offers detailed information on over 7,100 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography.
MLA International Bibliography
Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations dating back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations.
MLA International Bibliography
Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations dating back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations.
OED: Oxford English Dictionary
Online access to the definitive record of the English language, a guide to the meaning, history and pronunciation of 600,000 words. Revised and new entries each quarter.
Oxford Academic
Provides full-text for over 190 scholarly journals covering the humanities, law, life and physical sciences, mathematics, medicine, and the social sciences.
Short Story Index
Provides detailed indexing for hundreds of thousands of short stories for readers seeking short stories by author or genre, or for those researching a body of work of a literary figure.
Twentieth-Century English Poetry
A collection of more than 600 volumes of poetry by 283 poets from 1900 to the present day.
Web of Science
Provides access to the world's leading citation databases, with coverage from nearly 9,300 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access Journals. Current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage dating back to 1965.

Handbook of Latin American Studies
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.
WorldCat Identities
Provides author information such as works, subject headings, roles, genres, publication time line, alternative names, biographical information, Most widely held works about, and publication information on the authored works.

Ebook Central
A selection of scholarly and professional ebooks from all disciplines.
NOTE: To copy, print, download a chapter and/or to request the book, you will be asked to login with your Patriots credentials, even when on campus.
Taylor & Francis eBooks
Collection of eBooks in the fields of science, technology, engineering, medical, humanities and social science.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Contains recently-published scholarly and professional ebooks from all disciplines.

eBooks

Ebook Central
A selection of scholarly and professional ebooks from all disciplines.
NOTE: To copy, print, download a chapter and/or to request the book, you will be asked to login with your Patriots credentials, even when on campus.
Taylor & Francis eBooks
Collection of eBooks in the fields of science, technology, engineering, medical, humanities and social science.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Contains recently-published scholarly and professional ebooks from all disciplines.

If you have a citation from a book or article bibliography...

Go to the Journals by Title page, enter the title of the journal, and see if it is available in any of our subscription databases or in the Library. Check to make sure your date is covered, then click on the database name, or make a note to come by the library. If we don't have direct access to the journal issue you need, please fill out an interlibrary loan request form.

Journals by Title
Illiad Interlibrary Loan
If this is your first time to use Interlibrary Loan, click on First Time Users below the login boxes.
How to Read a Citation (Virginia Tech)--which is the volume number and which is the issue number?

Victorian Literature Journals

Victorians Institute Journal

Newsletter of the Victorian Studies Association of Western Canada

Victorian Review

Victorian Homes

Victorian Studies

Victorian Poetry

Victorian Periodicals Newsletter

Victorian Periodicals Review

Journal of Victorian Culture

Victorian LIterature and Culture

Journal of Victorian Culture

Victorians: A Journal of Culture and Literature

Nineteenth Century Prose

Browning Institute Studies

Journal of Language, Literature, and Culture