Research Guides: ENGL 2323- British Lit 1780-Present: Databases

Top Literature Databases

Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals.
JSTOR
Provides full-text access to hundreds of humanities, social science, and science scholarly books and journals.
ProQuest Central
Brings together complete databases across major subject areas, including business, health and medical, language and literature, social sciences, education, science and technology, as well as core titles in the performing and visual arts, history, religion, philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
WorldCat
A catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.
Sciwheel (Now Lean Library Workspace)
research tool that simplifies citation management by enabling users to collect, organize, annotate, collaborate on, and automatically cite sources.

More Literature Databases

ACLS Humanities E-book
A digital collection of over 1,700 full-text titles in the humanities.
Article First
An index of the tables of contents of over 16,000 journals as well as a list of libraries that have the journal title.
British Periodicals
More than 160 journals comprise the Early British Periodicals microfilm collection, the equivalent of 5,238 printed volumes containing approximately 3.1 million pages. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.
Eighteenth Century Collection Online
Full-text for 150,000 books published during the 18th Century covering the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.

C19: The Nineteenth Century Index
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index forms the bibliographic spine of 19th century research, comprising tens of millions of records and providing integrated access to the most important finding aids for books, periodicals, official publications, newspapers, archives, and reference material. Users can query its many component indexes simultaneously or can conduct more detailed research using search pages for specific indexes or content types.

Essay and General Literature Index
Cites records contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada.
Gale Virtual Reference
Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Gender: Identity and Social Change
Primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present.

Gerritsen Collection-Women's History Online (Chadwyck-Healey)
Includes primary source material published from 1543-1945, possibly the greatest single source for the study of international women's history and the feminist movement. Includes books and periodicals.
HarpWeek-Harper's Weekly (1857-1912)
Provides electronic access to Harper’s Weekly, the illustrated 19th century "Journal of Civilization," for a 56-year period: 1857-1912.
Humanities Full Text
Provides full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters.
Oxford Journals
Provides full-text for over 190 scholarly journals covering the humanities, law, life and physical sciences, mathematics, medicine, and the social sciences.
Project Muse
Provides full-text access to over 380 high quality humanities and social sciences journals.
Short Story Criticism
Though this database is called Literature Criticism Online, it contains the Gale Short Story Criticism Index.
Short Story Index
Provides detailed indexing for hundreds of thousands of short stories for readers seeking short stories by author or genre, or for those researching a body of work of a literary figure.
Twentieth-Century English Poetry
A collection of more than 600 volumes of poetry by 283 poets from 1900 to the present day.
Web of Knowledge
Web of Science consists of seven databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, reports, conferences, and more. It fully covers 1,160 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals.
WorldCat Identities
Provides author information such as works, subject headings, roles, genres, publication time line, alternative names, biographical information, Most widely held works about, and publication information on the authored works.

Dissertations

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day.
Scholar Works at UT Tyler
A repository that collects, preserves, and distributes the scholarly and artistic work of the UT Tyler community; including theses and dissertations as well as submitted faculty publications. Access to some materials are restricted due to the authors' wishes.

If you have a citation from a book or article bibliography...

Go to the Journals by Title page, enter the title of the journal, and see if it is available in any of our subscription databases or in the Library. Check to make sure your date is covered, then click on the database name, or make a note to come by the library. If we don't have direct access to the journal issue you need, please fill out an interlibrary loan request form.

Journals by Title
Illiad Interlibrary Loan
If this is your first time to use Interlibrary Loan, click on First Time Users below the login boxes.
How to Read a Citation (Virginia Tech)--which is the volume number and which is the issue number?

Victorian Literature Journals

Victorians Institute Journal

Newsletter of the Victorian Studies Association of Western Canada

Victorian Review

Victorian Homes

Victorian Studies

Victorian Poetry

Victorian Periodicals Newsletter

Victorian Periodicals Review

Journal of Victorian Culture

Victorian LIterature and Culture

Journal of Victorian Culture

Victorians: A Journal of Culture and Literature

Nineteenth Century Prose

Browning Institute Studies

Journal of Language, Literature, and Culture