ENGL 2323- British Lit 1780-Present

Wives and Husbands-- Mothers and Fathers-- Sons and Daughters-- Brothers and Sisters-- Stepfamilies and Foster Families

This book examines the history and literary representation of one primogeniture as a rule governing the succession to landed estates. This double approach roughly covers the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries.
TOC
see google books https://www.google.com/books/edition/Primogeniture_and_Entail_in_England/5wcrBwAAQBAJ?hl=en&gbpv=1

Victoria's Children of the Dark tells the story of Queen Victoria's invisible subjects - women and children who laboured harvesting the coal to fuel the furnaces of the industrial revolution.

TOC:
Introduction: Welcome to the Silkstones (11-16)
The Clarkes and the Silkstone Seam (3-20)
Gentry, Traders and the Tommy Shop (21-36)
A Collier’s Life (37-69)
A Multitude of Terrifying Calamities (70-81)
Moorend, Husker and the Day Hole (82-94)
A Thunderstorm of the Most Terrible Character (95-107)
The Exterminating Angel (108-120)
Lord Ashley and the Royal Commission (121-133)
Mr Symonds and Mr Scriven Come to Call (134-166)
Part Three
An Enormous Mischief Has Been Discovered (167-184)
Out of Darkness and Into Plight (185-194)
Decline and Fall (195-202)
Postscript: Weeping in the Playtime of Others (203-219)
Bibliography (220-223)

A broad range of original data on childhood in Victorian Britain explores life and death, child development, the family, work, education, social life, cities, crime, and advocacy and reform. Presenting data on the deteriorating health of children during the nineteenth century and on increasing displacement of adults in the workplace
TOC
Development & Health (1-46)
The Family (47-75)
Life & Death (76-109)
Work (110-147)
Learning (148-192)
Social Life (193-221)
Cities (222-258)
Virtues & Vices (259-304)
Advocacy & Reform (305-334)
References (335-372)

One of England's grand masters of history provides a clear and persuasive interpretation of the creation of "respectable society" in Victorian Britain. He covers not only the economy, social structure, and patterns of authority, but also marriage and the family, childhood, homes and houses, work and play.
TOC
Economy & Society (13-50)
The Family (51-84)
Marriage (85-113)
Childhood (114-151)
Homes & Houses (152-196)
Work (197-245)
Play (246-306)
Authority & Society (307-362)

in detail with firsthand accounts, Frost paints a complete picture of Victorian childhood that illustrates both the difficulties and pleasures of growing up during this period. Differences of class, gender, region, and time varied the lives of children tremendously.


TOC
Introduction (1-10)
1. Children and the Family (11-33)
2. School Days (34-54)
3. Child Labor in Victorian Britain (55-75)
4. Victorian Children at Play (76-96)
5. “For God and Country”: Building the Better Boy (and Girl) (97-120)
6. Lost Boys and Girls (121-142)
7. The Victorian Expansion of Childhood (143-163)
Conclusion (164-168)
Bibliography (179-186)

A unique account of working-class childhood during the British industrial revolution. Presenting working-class childhoods in contexts untouched by conventional sources & facilitates estimates of age at starting work, social mobility, the extent of apprenticeship and the duration of schooling through the classic era of industrialisation, 1790–1850.
TOC
Introduction (1-11)
Sources, Models, Context (12-48)
Families (49-83)
Household Economy (84-124)
Family Relationships (125-150)
Wider Kin (151-171)
Starting Work (172-209)
Jobs (210-255)
Apprenticeship (256-305)
Schooling (306-365)
Conclusions (366-373)
Further Reading (374-429)

Describes the varied aspects of country life day-to-day experiences, including living conditions, food, school life, work on the land, agricultural policies and how they affected children, local and cottage industries, the Church and its influence, and crime and punishment.

TOC
Early Life & Background (1-20)
Going to School (21-46)
Arrival of Her Majesty's Inspector (47-65)
School Attendance Laws (66-81)
Work on the Land (82- 110)
Cottage Industries (111-132)
Domestic Service & Rural Crafts (133-149)
Church & Chapel (150-172)
High Days & Holidays (173-195)
Sickness & its Cures (196-217)
Crime & Punishment (218-234)
Documents (235- 272)
Bibliography (274-278)

Horn considers the increasing divisions within urban society, not only between market towns and major manufacturing and trading centers, but within individual towns, as rich and poor became more segregated.
During the Victorian period, public attitudes toward children and childhood shifted dramatically, often to the detriment of those at the lower end of the social scale--including paupers and juvenile delinquents. Drawing on original research, including anecdotes, first-hand accounts, and a wealth of photographs, The Victorian Town Child describes in detail the changing lives of all classes of Victorian town children.
TOC
Intro (vii-viii)
Victorian Towns (1-18)
Middle Class Children (19-44)
Working-class Home Life (45-69)
Growth of Mass Schooling (70-98)
At Work (99-126)
At Leisure (153-179)
Rescue & Reform (180-210)
Charts & Documents (211-220)
Notes (221-242)
Bibliography (243-245)

Taking 20 women writers of the Romantic period, Romanticism and Gender explores a neglected period of the female literary tradition, and gives a broad overview of Romantic literature from a feminist perspective.

InterLibrary Loan
Chapters- England and the English--Ladies, Gentlemen and Others-- Education, Faith, and Doubt--Country Life--The Labouring Nation--London--Arts and Pleasures

Chapters-Women and girls in the middle-class family: images and reality -- The Victorian middle-class girl: an overview -- 'Sunbeams' and 'Hoydens': images of girlhood in the Victorian period -- Victorian advice about the management of female childhood -- A healthy mind in a healthy body: Victorian advice about the management of female puberty -- The proper young lady: Victorian advice about correct female behaviour in adolescence -- Part three. Early-Victorian girlhood experience -- Mid-Victorian girlhood experience -- Late-Victorian epilogue

Middle class families -- Great Britain -- History -- 17th century.
Middle class families -- Great Britain -- History -- 18th century.

An intriguing miscellany of some of the best, wittiest and most unusual Victorian writing, Dickens's England brings to life, through these writers' careful observations and shrewd judgements, the variety, energy and the frequently harsh reality of the society

TOC
England and the English (5-44)
Ladies, Gentlemen and Others (45-76)
Education, Faith, and Doubt (77-113)
Country Life (114-143)
The Labouring Nation (144-178)
London (179-216)
Arts and Pleasures (217-248)
Overseas (249-278)
Coda (279)
Further Reading (280-281)

Judith Flanders's book is laid out like a Victorian house, taking you through the story of daily life from room to room.


TOC
Intro (3-36)
Bedroom (37-63)
Nursery (64-99)
Kitchen (100-129)
Scullery (130-167)
Drawing Room (168-213)
Parlor (214-252)
Dining Room (253-291)
Morning Room (292-323)
Bathroom & the Lavatory (324-339)
Sickroom (340-389)
Street (390-416)
Notes (417-450)
Bibliography (451-474)

InterLibrary Loan
Chapters- England and the English--Ladies, Gentlemen and Others-- Education, Faith, and Doubt--Country Life--The Labouring Nation--London--Arts and Pleasures