Research Guides: ART 4394/ ART 5394- Contemporary Issues: Web Resources

Art World News

Videos with Artists and Curators

Art 21 series on PBS
A documentary television series focusing on contemporary visual art by artists working in the United States.
The Artist Project | The Metropolitan Museum of Art
Art Babble
Conceived and launched by a cross-departmental collection of individuals at the Indianapolis Museum of Art (IMA), ArtBabble is intended to showcase video art content in high quality format from a variety of sources and perspectives.
Chinese contemporary art
Chinese contemporary art comes to America
The Future that Was
Inner visions
Museum of Modern Art - YouTube
Regarding India: Conversations with Artists
Richard Artschwager: Shut Up and Look
Rumblings of the Earth: Wifredo Lam, His Work and Words
Tate - YouTube
This is Modern Art (written and directed by English art critic Matthew Collings)
Yellow Ox Mountain

Contemporary Art Museum Websites

The Contemporary Arts Museum Houston is a non-collecting institution dedicated to presenting the best and most exciting international, national, and regional art. Founded in 1948, the Museum prides itself on presenting new art and documenting its role in modern life through exhibitions, lectures, original publications, and a variety of educational programs and events.

• Contemporary Austin

Austin's largest collection and exhibit spaces for contemporary art.

• Gallerist NY

"From breaking news to art criticism to market reporting, GalleristNY is a daily chronicle of the art world in New York and beyond."

• Google Cultural Institute

• Metropolitan Museum of Art

MOCA-The Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles
The museum's exhibits consist primarily of American and European contemporary art created after 1940. Since the museum's inception, MOCA's programming has been defined by its multi-disciplinary approach to contemporary art.
Now numbering over 6,800 works and steadily growing, this invaluable cultural resource provides extensive opportunities for education and enjoyment to thousands of national and international visitors.
Museum Of Contemporary Art , Chicago
National Gallery of Art, Washington DC
New Museum (of contemporary art, New York City)
The New Museum began as an idea in the mind of founding Director Marcia Tucker. She observed firsthand that new work by living artists was not easily assimilated into the conventional exhibition and collection structure of the traditional art museum. Started in 1977 the New Museum is exclusively devoted to presenting contemporary art from around the world.
Peggy Guggenheim Collection
The museum houses an impressive selection of modern art. Its picturesque setting and well-respected collection attract some 400,000 visitors per year. Works on display include those of prominent Italian futurists and American modernists. Pieces in the collection embrace Cubism, Surrealism and Abstract expressionism
Tate Modern
Tate Modern opened in 2000 and now exhibits the national collection of modern art from 1900 to the present day, including some modern British art. In its first year, the Tate Modern was the most popular museum in the world, with 5,250,000 visitors.
The Modern (art museum of Fort Worth)
The collection of the Modern Art Museum of Fort Worth is comprised of nearly 3,000 objects, including paintings, sculptures, videos, photographs, and prints. The majority of works in the collection are dated between 1945 and the present. All major, international movements are represented, including Abstract Expressionism; British, German, French, and American Pop; Color Field Painting; Minimalism; Conceptualism; Post-Minimalism; New Image Painting, and Neo-Expressionism. Pop and Minimalism are particularly strong, as is German art of the 1970s and 1980s.
UK Guardian Art and Design page
Whitney Museum of American Art
Thought not only contemporary art, the Whitney has a special focus on works by living artists.
The Whitney is dedicated to collecting, preserving, interpreting, and exhibiting American art, and its collection is the Museum’s key resource. The Museum’s signature exhibition, the Biennial, is the country’s leading survey of the most recent developments in American art.


Like us on Facebook	Follow us on Instagram	Check us out on YouTube

ART 4394/ ART 5394- Contemporary Issues: Web Resources

Find Artist Information

Art World News

Videos with Artists and Curators

Contemporary Art Museum Websites