Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Antebellum America ("The Age of Jackson")--Primary Sources: Microform Collections

Microform Collections

Through the years the Robert R. Muntz Library has purchased a number of microfiche, ultrafiche, and microfilm collections of historical primary documents. They are housed in cabinets on the 2nd (main) floor of the library, along the far wall behind the history reference books. Machines for reading, saving to thumbdrive, and printing these documents to paper are at the other end of the same wall. All printing from microfilm and fiche is free to all students, faculty, and visitors. Please ask the person at reference for assistance.

Collections of interest to this class include:

Library of American Civilization--This collection contains material relating to all aspects of American life, from the country's earliest days to the start of World War I. The majority of items were published before 1914. The collection contains many rare and out of print books and and material of foreign origin relating to America. All titles are in the library catalog with a call number beginning LAC. Bound indexes available on top of the cabinet. See below for a website with links to online versions of these documents.  Many of these titles are now also available on Google Books.

American Culture Series II--5,600 titles representing what are considered to be fundamental research materials in interdisciplinary American Studies curricula, covering 1493-1875.  All titles are in the Muntz Catalog with a call number beginning Am.Cul.II.  Many of these titles are also now available on Google Books.

Texas as Province and Republic, 1795-1845. 39 reels. Indexed in Streeter Bibliography, Ref. Z1339.S8 1983. All known Texas, Mexican, U.S., and European imprints related to Texas published between 1795 and 1845. See below for a link to a discussion of the bibliography which includes a copy of the bibliography only, not the documents.

Daniel Webster Papers. E337.8 .W3 1971x.

Translations of Statistical and Census Reports of Texas, 1792-1836, and Sources Documenting the Black in Texas, 1603-1803.

 

  

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Follow us on Instagram