Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Antebellum America ("The Age of Jackson")--Primary Sources: Primary sources in databases

Key History Databases for Antebellum America

Additional Journal and Periodical Databases

Hints for SwoopSearch

SwoopSearch is our multi-database/library catalog search box on the main library page.  It is available as a simple search (much like Google), an advanced search (searching specific fields, limit to scholarly and/or full text), and a results list that allows further refinement.  It allows limiting by publication date, but not by time period covered.  Subject searching varies according to database.  You may create an account and then create folders to save articles.  I consider this more of a shotgun and cleanup approach for upper division and graduate students, while the individual databases are more precisely targeted.  Both approaches have their strengths and weaknesses.

History Databases Not Fully Indexed in SwoopSearch

The following History-related databases are not fully indexed in SwoopSearch, our comprehensive database search.  You will need to search these separately:

American Periodical Series Online (full-image journal articles published before 1900)

Gerritsen Collection--Women's History Online

Heritage Quest (census, family and community histories)

Periodicals Archive Online (full image journal articles)

If you have a citation from a book or article bibliography...

You will probably find promising articles in the bibliographies of books and journal articles.  To see if UT Tyler has access to them go to the Journals by Title page, enter the title of the journal, and see if it is available in any of our subscription databases or in the Library up on the fourth floor. Check to make sure the date you need is covered, then click on the database name, or make a note to come by the library. If we don't have direct access to the journal issue you need, please fill out an interlibrary loan request form.

Printed Periodical Indexes

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (1802-1906). Ref. AI3 .P7 1938.  Although the indexing may be eccentric, this index does cover some journals not included in our databases.

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Follow us on Instagram