Skip to main content

Community History: Archives

University Archives

From the UT Tyler Library's home page, look in the left tan frame and click on Archives.  This will take you to the page for the University Archives and Special Collections which is physically housed on the ground (or basement) floor of the library, behind the stairs and down the hall with the posters on UT Tyler history.  It is usually open M-F, 8-5, or by appointment.

Click on Collections.  At that point it splits into University Archives (the history of UT Tyler) and Special Collections (other collections related to the surrounding community).

If you pick Special Collections, you wil see:
William M. Steger Papers
Billy Williamson Papers, 1964-1975
E. F. Jarrel Papers
Tim Anthony Jackson Collection, 1884-2013
Sarah McClendon Paers, 1910-2003
Harold J. McKenzie Papers, 1919-1991
Texas Political Campaign Collection, 1908-2012
Willis Jarrel Collection
The Firth U.S. District Courts, Texas Eastern Division Collection
Tyler Morning Telegraph, UT Tyler Index

Click on any collection for more detail.

You can also look at the tan horizontal bar (Collections, Digital Content, Subjects, Creators, Record Groups) and click on Subjects, then View All, to see all subjects currently included in Archives and Special Collections.

Archival Databases

Depending on your topic, you may not need to visit any archives other than that of the Smith County Historical Society.  However, if the topic has any sort of state or national significance, you may want to check to see what's out there, particularly if you want to pursue your project on to publication or presentation.

Archives do not lend their materials on interlibrary loan.  They may make photocopies....for a fee.....when they get around to it....maybe....if the material isn't restricted or too fragile.  In most cases you must visit the archives and use the materials there.  Before you drive to Fort Worth or Austin or Nacogdoches, you may want to consult one or more of the specialized archives databases to see what is there, and then check the archives' own webpages for their open hours, holidays, available parking (choice #1 and choice #2), etc.  Make a list of what you want on a loose sheet of paper before you go.  You will probably be allowed only a laptop, a few sheets of paper, and a pencil or two (no pens) in the reading room--everything else goes into a locker.  Some archives are now allowing digital cameras, but usually without flash.  Practice with your camera on documents before you go--you don't want to depend on it and get home to fuzzy images.

Check every bibliography of every useful article, book, thesis, or dissertation for possible sources.  Make lists divided up by where the sources are.  Is anything significant eough to justify emailing them to see if *particular* items can be photocopied?  They don't have the time to go fishing for you--be very specific.  Is there enough in any location to justify a trip?

These databases cover the more significant archives in the United States, and particularly Texas.

ARC:  U.S. National Archives & Records Administration Research Catalog.  The online catalog of NARA's nationwide holdings in the Washington, DC area, Regional Archives and Presidential Libraries.  Fort Worth is a Regional Archive covering this area. No login required.

ArchiveGrid--"An online service that provides access to detailed archival collection descriptions from collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide."  Login required if off-campus.

Portal to Texas History--Digitized images from a wide variety of Texas libraries, museums, archives, historical societies, genealogical societies, and private family collections.  Finding something here can lead to the original in archives across the state, and perhaps related material not yet digitized.  No login required.

TARO:  Texas Archival Resources Online--No login required.  Searchable database of archival collections at:
African American Library at the Gregory School (Houston)
Alexander Architectural Archive, University of Texas at Austin
Austin History Center
Benson Latin American Collection, University of Texas at Austin
Cushing Memorial Library, Texas A&M University
Daughters of the Republic of Texas Library at the Alamo
Dolph Briscoe Center for American History, University of Texas at Austin (formerly Barker Texas History Center)
Fine Arts Library, University of Texas at Austin
Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center, University of Texas at Austin
Houston Academy of Medicine--Texas Medical Center Library, John P. McGovern Historical Collections and Research Center
Houston Public LIbrary, Houston Metropolitan Research Center
The Robert E. Nail Archives at the Old Jail Art Center (Albany, TX)
San Antonio Municipal Archives
San Jacinto Museum of History
Southern Methodist University
Southwest Collection/Special Collections Library, Texas Tech University
Tarlton Law Library, University of Texas at Austin
Texas/Dallas History and Archives Division, Dallas Public Library
Texas General Land Office Archives and Records
Texas State Library and Archives
Texas State University, San Marcos, The Wittliff Collections
Texas Woman's University, the Woman's Collection
Truman G. Blocker, Jr.  History of Medicine Collections, Moody Medical Library, University of Texas Medical Branch
University of Houston Libraries, Special Collections
University of North Texas Archives
University of St. Thomas Archives
University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center, Research Medical Library
University of Texas at San Antonio
Vietnam Center and Archive, Texas Tech University
Woodson Research Center, Rice University

Texas State Library Archives & Manuscripts--Includes archival government records dating back to the 18th century, as well as newspapers, journals, books, manuscripts, photographs, historical maps, and other historical resources.  No login required.

WorldCat--Can limit type to Archival Materials.  Smith County material can end up anywhere.  Just think of all of the Civil War prisoners at Camp Ford who might have gone home and written about their experiences, or the letters from Tyler to "back home" at any point in history.

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Follow us on Instagram