READ 5305: Journals for Teaching

"Art Education covers a diverse range of topics of professional interest to art educators and anyone whose interest is quality visual arts education.It is published bi-monthly in full color, and each issue features an Instructional Resource article, making Art Education a significant addition to every teacher’s reference library."

"includes explorations of theory and practice in the areas of art production, art criticism, aesthetics, art history, human development, curriculum and instruction, and assessment."

National Council of Teachers of English. "Voices offers middle level teachers innovative and practical ideas for classroom use that are rooted in current research; this is a journal for teachers by teachers." Log in with Patriots credential and search just this journal. Full text 2016 to present.

"Covers practical teaching ideas, research, and professional development for teachers of children up to age 12." Log in with Patriots credentials. 2004 to present.

"A peer-reviewed journal serving those interested in the teaching of reading to adolescents and adults. Each issue offer practical, classroom-tested ideas grounded in current research and theory." Log in with Patriots credentials., 2004 to present.

"award-winning journal of ideas for English language arts teachers in junior and senior high schools and middle schools." Log in with Patriots credentials. 1912 to present.

This publication of the National Council for the Social Studies features lessons and activities for middle school teachers. (membership subscription only)

"The Social Studies is a peer-reviewed journal that publishes articles of interest to educators at all levels. Suitable topics include those concerned with the social studies, the social sciences, history, and interdisciplinary studies. The journal welcomes articles that present new directions, options, or approaches."

"peer-reviewed, flagship journal, contains a balance of theoretical content and practical teaching ideas." Published by National Council for the Social Studies, requires membership.

"Features articles about teaching methods, curriculum, teacher preparation, professional issues, coaching, youth sports, fitness, recreation, and dance." Log in with Patriots credentials. 1896 to present.

"A peer-reviewed professional journal that publishes practical, how-to articles for sport and physical education professionals at all levels." Log in with Patriots credentials. 1987 to present.

Full-text, open-access to recent issues and archives courtesy of the Society for History Education.

An official journal of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics devoted to improving mathematics instruction from grade 8-14 and supporting teacher education programs. It provides a forum for sharing activities and pedagogical strategies, deepening understanding of mathematical ideas, and linking mathematics education research to practice." Individual issues since August 2013 on 4th floor, Library.

"intended as a resource for middle school students, teachers, and teacher educators. The focus of the journal is on intuitive, exploratory investigations that use informal reasoning to help students develop a strong conceptual basis that leads to greater mathematical abstraction." Individual issues since Sept 2013 on 4th floor of Library.

"offers peer-reviewed scholarly and practical articles on music teaching approaches and philosophies, instructional techniques, current trends and issues in music education in schools and communities and the latest in products and services." Log in with Patriots credentials. 1990 to present.

"reports of original research related to music teaching and learning. The wide range of topics includes various aspects of music pedagogy, history, and philosophy, and addresses vocal, instrumental, and general music at all levels, from early childhood through adult." Log in using Patriots credentials. 2001 to present.

"innovative, classroom-tested middle school science activities and strategies." Sign in with Patriots credentials and search just this title. 1997 to present. Also current issues, Sept. 2013 to present on 4th floor library.

"The Science Teacher is an award-winning, peer-reviewed, practitioners' journal with an audience made up of high school science educators who provide support for teachers, instructors of teachers, and preservice secondary education students." Sign in with Patriots credentials. Search in this journal only. 1989 to present.

"The National Association for Bilingual Education’s premier scholarly, peer-reviewed research publication. Bilingual Research Journal delivers in-depth coverage of education theory and practice, dealing with bilingual education, bilingualism, and language policies in education."

"a new peer-reviewed journal that provides an international forum for innovative research, methods, materials and theories on the teaching and learning of Spanish as a foreign language."

"Devoted to the teaching of Spanish and Portuguese, Hispania is published by the American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese."