Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MOT - New Cohort Library Orientation

Finding Full Text (FT)

When searching for a full text document, always start looking in the library's resources first!

A lot of research literature is now freely available on the web. However, many publications are still subscription-based (aka paywalled). Library resources usually provide access to both paywalled and open access journals.

If you need a specific article, and remember the database where you found its citation, start looking there.


Locating full text while searching a database

When reviewing your search results...

1. Scan the brief results display for full text availability icons like the following: Screen shot of EBSCOHost Full Text Icons: HTML & PDF full text icons respectively

a. Click the icon to navigate to the document.

2. Where records do not display full text icons, check to see if an interlibrary loan icon is showing in the results display: Screen shot of EBSCOHost Borrow from Another Library icon

a. The presence of this icon implies that the library lacks access to the journal in question. But it isn't always accurate. So its worth verifying.

i. If your need is time sensitive (ie. you don't have days to await the item), and you wish to be thorough, you can use the Browzine pathway below to verify the journal's access status.

ii. You can also forward the citation to me to check on your behalf: michaelskinner@uttyler.edu

b. If a Browzine journal search confirms that library access to the journal is unavailable, click on the Borrow from Another Library icon to request the article through inter-library loan.

Locating full text from bibliographic citations (Browzine Pathway)

1. Navigate to Browzine (www.uttyler.edu/library ⇒ SwoopSearch ⇒ Journals by Title)

2. Copy the journal title from your citation and paste into the Browzine search box

a. Browzine will auto-search the title

3. If the journal is available, you will be guided to either a) a Browzine journal landing page, or b) a search results page.

a. Browzine Journal Landing Page - use the citation 's publication details to narrow to the article:

i. Under Journal Issues, select the required publication year (left column),

ii. Select the correct issue number (right column, Journal Issues; will vary with specific journal sequencing),

iii. Scroll down the table of contents to find your article title (pro tip: articles are listed sequentially as presented in issue; use the article pagination to scroll to the page range where your article should be).

iv. Click the chain icon to navigate to the article full text.


b. Search results page - this will display the journal's title, plus a list of databases hosting its full text.

i. Check the availability date range - to ensure that the database provides full text for the publication date(s) required.

ii. Click the navigation link (journal title) - this may take you to a database, or it may take you to a journal webpage.

iii. Use the publication details filters on the landing page to narrow to your citation's volume and issue

iv. Scroll through the table of contents to locate your entry by title in the issue

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Follow us on Instagram