Research Guides: Anti-Racism Resource Guide: Home

About this guide

This guide serves as an overview of books and materials available from the library that explore topics in systemic racism, oppression, and the stories of BIPOC (Black, Indigenous, and People Of Color).

If there are books or other resources you would like to see added to the library collection, please email us at library@uttyler.edu.

News Sources

New York Times
To create your account.
Step 1: On campus or from the virtual desktop navigate to https://nytimesineducation.com/access-nyt/
Step 2: Search for and click the listing for "University of Texas at Tyler"
Step 3: Click Create Account and complete registration fields

Existing New York Times ID
If you have previously registered your email address on The New York Times site, you will click the "Already have an account" "Log in here" link (below the "Create Account" button) in Step 3.
A source of reporting, information and opinion, covering politics, finance, health, science, culture, the arts, sports, and fashion in the US and abroad, with special emphasis on the New York metropolitan area.
Newspaper Source Plus
Provides full-text digital collection of the world's major news content, including millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines; as well as television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
Nexis Uni
Provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources; including US Supreme Court decisions since 1970.

New Books

Abolitionist Socialist Feminism: Radicalizing the Next Revolution by ZILLAH EISENSTEIN
ISBN: 9781583677643
Publication Date: 2019
An African American and Latinx history of the United States by Paul Ortiz
ISBN: 0807013900
Publication Date: 2018
"An intersectional history of the shared struggle for African American and Latinx civil rights Spanning more than two hundred years..."
Have Black Lives Ever Mattered? by Mumia Abu-Jamal
ISBN: 0872867390
Publication Date: 2017
"This collection of short meditations, written from a prison cell, captures the past two decades of police violence that gave rise to Black Lives Matter while digging deeply into the history of the United States. This is the book we need right now to find our bearings in the chaos."--Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz
How to Be an Antiracist by Ibram X. Kendi
Call Number: E184.A1 K344 2019
ISBN: 0525509283
Publication Date: 2019-08-13
I've Been Here All the While by Alaina E. Roberts
ISBN: 9780812297980
Just Mercy by Bryan Stevenson
ISBN: 9780812994537
A powerful true story about the potential for mercy to redeem us, and a clarion call to fix our broken system of justice--from one of the most brilliant and influential lawyers of our time.
Me and White Supremacy by Layla F. Saad
ISBN: 9781728209814
"Me and White Supremacy takes readers on a 28-day journey of how to dismantle the privilege within themselves so that they can stop (often unconsciously) inflicting damage on people of color, and in turn, help other white people do better, too."
The New Jim Crow by Michelle Alexander
Call Number: HV9950 .A437 2010
ISBN: 1620971941
"Although Jim Crow laws have been wiped off the books, an astounding percentage of the African American community remains trapped in a subordinate status, much like their grandparents before them, who lived under an explicit system of control."
Why I'm No Longer Talking to White People about Race by Reni Eddo-Lodge
ISBN: 9781408870570
Why I'm No Longer Talking to White People About Race is the essential handbook for anyone who wants to understand race relations in Britain today.


Like us on Facebook	Follow us on Instagram	Check us out on YouTube