Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NURS 6342 Scholarship in Nursing Library Guide: Library Website

A guide to advanced search techniques & strategy for scholarly literature research.

Begin Your Research From Muntz

Reasons to Start Your Search from Muntz

1. Full Text Access to paywalled material

2. Access to paywalled scholarly databases

3. Immediate access to ILLIAD 


Start your search where you have the best odds of getting the documents you need!

Log in & search our scholarly databases first!

Using the Library

Get tips for using our library website from the infographic below

Simply hover over a dot to find out what you can do!


SwoopSearch

SwoopSearch allows you to search through many of our databases and the library catalog simultaneously. SwoopSearch is a very broad search. For more advanced searching, consult the databases in your subject. These databases provide direct access to specific types of research and offer more advanced searching options. 


Use Advanced Search for more options: 

image of advanced search options for SwoopSearch


You can make use of the "Tweak my Results" options on the results page to narrow your results (by Availability, Resource Type, Subject, Author/Creator, Creation Date, Library, Collection, Language, Journal Title, or Location).     


Logging in will allow you to pin items as favorites and be able to go back to them. It will also allow you to save searches and set up search alerts. This login is not the login to access library resources. If you are working off-campus, you should be prompted to login with your Patriots credentials in order to access the library resources (for example, when you try to access a database directly or if you try to access an article that you find through SwoopSearch). 


You can manage items that you have checked out through your Library Account.


To Login to your Library Account

Start at the Library's main website. Scroll down. Under "Related Links", click "Renew My Materials". Login using your Patriots username & password.

Your Library Account
 

See items you have checked out, along with due dates, renewable status, and any fines. Renew items online. View your reading history to see items you've checked out previously. Submit a purchase suggestion if there is an item you would like to see added to the Library's collection.

 


Wondering if we have a specific book or maybe books on a specific topic? Search the library catalog to find out!


Searching the Library Catalog

Click on Advanced Search under SwoopSearch. Then, in the drop-down menu, change the Search Scope from SwoopSearch to Library Catalog and complete the remaining fields of your search.

Use the "Tweak my results" options to narrow your search further. You can limit by Availability, Resource Type, Subject, Author/Creator, Creation Date, Library, Language, or Location.


Understanding Your Library Catalog Search Results

Results from a library catalog search - type of item/location of item - "online access" for eBooks, physical location listed for print items


Show actions options - shows all options, including citation export options, permalink, and email.


Clicking on the title of the item will open the full record where you will see all these same options along with any additional details available.

 

Librarians create and maintain guides for specific subjects as well as on general topics. In these guides are many resources that will be useful in conducting your library research.


Getting to the Guides

You can pull up a list of Guides by Subject using the link in the search box or under Research in the drop-down menu on the left side of the Library's website.

Subject Guides

Your subject guide is a central location for library resources relevant to your subject. Find information about how to use the library resources, highlighted resources for your subject, tutorials, links to useful websites, information about writing & citing, and library services for distance students. The guides are updated periodically.  

Other Guides

You can change how you view the Guides to see them by Type rather than by Subject. You can see if there is a Course Guide that has been developed for your Course. In addition to Subject and Course Guides, there are a number of Topic Guides available on a variety of topics, such as citations and connecting from off-campus.

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Follow us on Instagram