Skip to main content

April 2019

April is Research Month!

April is Research Month at UT Tyler and Muntz Library is joining the festivities!
Come celebrate with us!

 

Monday, April 1 - What if there was no library? Check our social media on April 1st for more information
Tuesday, April 2 - Visit with librarians and your Educational Technology Support Specialist when we come visit the LUC! Ask us questions! Learn about our resources! Check out our display on Open Educational Resources! Get a preview of April workshop offerings!
Wednesday, April 3 - Library Workshop: Excel Episode II: The Data Strikes Back Featuring Rebecca Fernandez as The Librarian - 3 pm, LIB 422 or via Zoom
Thursday, April 4 - Grad School 180 Competition - The Graduate School at The University of Texas at Tyler, For more information:  https://www.uttyler.edu/graduate/180.php
Friday, April 5 - Great Plains Honors Conference April 5-7, 2019  Hosted by the Honors Program at the University of Texas at Tyler For more information:  https://www.uttyler.edu/great-plains-honors-conference19/
Monday, April 8 - Research Month Workshop: Scholarly Communications with Terra Gullings, 10 am LIB 202
Tuesday, April 9 - Visit with librarians and your Educational Technology Support Specialist when we come visit Palestine! Ask us questions! Learn about our resources! Check out our display on Open Educational Resources! Get a preview of April workshop offerings!
Wednesday, April 10 - Research Month Workshop: Research & Publishing & Journals, Oh My! with Rebecca Fernandez, 10 am, LIB 422
Thursday, April 11 - Liaison Librarians in the UC today! Come visit with us!
Friday, April 12 - Academic Innovation Showcase, Academic Innovation Faculty Learning Community (FLC), For more information: https://www.uttyler.edu/cetl/faculty-learning-communities/academic-innovation.php
Monday, April 15 - PubFest - The Robert R. Muntz Library presents this open discussion with representatives from academic publishers & campus departments that can help your research. EBSCO - Elsevier - F1000 - ProQuest - Sage - Scholarly Communications - Office of Digital Learning - Liaison Librarians - 9 am - 3 pm, UC Ballroom - Sponsored by Robert R. Muntz Library and the Office of the Associate Provost, Research and Scholarship
Tuesday, April 16 - Presentation Tools & Skills: A New Hope featuring Sarah Norrell & Christine Forisha as The Librarians, 3 pm LIB 422 or via Zoom
Wednesday, April 17 - Library Open Mic: How Can We Help Your Research? 3 pm in the Library Living Room (2nd Floor)
Thursday, April 18 - Liaison Librarians in the Soules College of Business today! Come visit with us!
Friday, April 19 - 4th annual Research Lyceum, UT Tyler Honors Program, For more information: https://www.uttyler.edu/honors/lyceum/
Monday, April 22 - Research Month Workshop: Faculty Resources with Rebecca Fernandez, 3 pm, LIB 422
Tuesday, April 23 - A Celebration of Scholarship and Creativity, Tuesday, PHE Gym 122, Poster Presentations & Book Recognition 11:30 am - Noon, Celebration Program Noon - 1:30 pm
Wednesday, April 24 - Research Month Workshop: ePortfolios: Professionally Presenting Your Research & Creative Works with Sarah Norrell and Jennifer Daniel of ODL, 10 am, ODL Learning Lab
Thursday, April 25 - Research Month Workshop:
Friday, April 26 - Liaison Librarians in the Ratliff Building today! Come visit with us!
Monday, April 29 - Liaison Librarians in the BEP/HPR today! Come visit with us!
Tuesday, April 30 - Research Month Workshop: Lightning Rounds: A Different Way to Look at Research, 3 pm, LIB 422

View the calendar to get an overview of the library and selected university events being offered throughout the month. Click below to get details of events, including times, locations, descriptions of workshops, etc.

The Robert R. Muntz Library presents this open discussion with representatives from academic publishers & campus departments that can help your research. The event will be from 9 am - 3 pm in the UC Ballroom. Come by and visit with the following publishers:

EBSCO – one of the largest publishing and content partners in the world.

Elsevier – a global information analytics business that helps institutions and professionals progress science, advance healthcare and improve performance. Learn about the new Researcher Academy – provides free access to countless e-learning resources designed to support researchers on every step of their research journey.

F1000 – a publisher of services for life scientists and clinical researchers, including an innovative open access publishing platform, a reference manager that helps you share with colleagues across the globe, and expert opinions on current research.

ProQuest – committed to empowering researchers with content, technologies and deep expertise. ProQuest also publishes graduate dissertations and thesis, provides tools for managing, locating and sharing funding information and supporting research collaboration.

Sage – an independent academic and professional publisher, Sage disseminates teaching and research on a global scale. Sage Research Methods provides numerous tools to assist in the research process, such as the Little Blue Books of qualitative methods, the Little Green Books of quantitative methods, practice data analysis, and a research project planner.

 
The University of Texas at Tyler (UT Tyler) Office of the Provost, Office of Research and Scholarship, and The Robert R. Muntz Library will host the 5th annual reception to honor our Faculty and Staff: "A Celebration of Scholarship and Creativity". The event will be held on Tuesday, April 23rd at 12 noon in the University PHE Gym.

The event recognizes UT Tyler faculty and staff who have published or presented at a professional venue or conference in their field. Entries may include papers, posters, recitals, lectures, or keynote appearances. A Poster and Table Top Presentation event precedes the Celebration at 11:30am.

The program will include: The Library's "Crystal Quill Award", which recognizes outstanding scholarship and creativity of faculty from each college as determined by their Dean. This year one staff member will also receive a Crystal Quill Award.

UT Tyler Provost, Dr. Amir Mirmiran, will recognize faculty who have published a book. The Office of the Provost has purchased these books to be added to the Robert R. Muntz Library collection. Dr. Kouider Mokhtari, Interim Associate Provost for Research and Scholarship, will host the event. Rebecca McKay Johnson, Executive Director of the Library, will close the event.

Event is open to UT Tyler Faculty and Staff. RSVP will be requested.
Presented by Rebecca Fernandez, Head of Electronic Resources & Collection Management - Robert R. Muntz Library

Microsoft Excel – perhaps you’ve learned the basic features, but you’re looking to truly master this powerful tool? Join Master Librarian Rebecca Fernandez as she guides you through the advanced (and fun) aspects of Excel such as: the Data tab, slicer and timeline filters, changing the format of contents, and more!

Please register so that we can save your seat. We will also send out the recorded workshop to those who register, and post the recording to YouTube. You may attend in person or online via Zoom (https://uttyler.zoom.us/j/9035667343). Workshop takes place in LIB 422 in the Library.
Presented by Terra Gullings, Head of University Archives and Special Collections - Robert R. Muntz Library

This presentation will address issues surrounding scholarly communication—with a focus on how important scholarly communication is for anyone who creates, disseminates, and/or discovers scholarly research. Topics include: publication models, copyright and author rights, the Open Access movement, institutional repositories, and more.

Please register so that we can save your seat. We will also send out the recorded workshop to those who register, and post the recording to YouTube. You may attend in person or online via Zoom (https://uttyler.zoom.us/j/9035667343). Workshop takes place in LIB 202 in the Library.
Presented by Rebecca Fernandez, Head of Electronic Resources & Collection Management - Robert R. Muntz Library

Between scholarly, peer-reviewed, and predatory journals, quality measurements, impact factors, and citescores, the world of research and publishing continues to confuse even the most up-to-date scholars! Join us to learn about the new Researcher Academy for writing and publishing, as well as Nature Masterclasses, a database of tutorials on scholarly writing and publishing methods. Researchers and scholarly authors of all levels and disciplines welcome!

Please register so that we can save your seat. We will also send out the recorded workshop to those who register, and post the recording to YouTube. You may attend in person or online via Zoom (https://uttyler.zoom.us/j/9035667343). Workshop takes place in LIB 422 in the Library.
Presented by Librarians Sarah Norrell & Christine Forisha - Robert R. Muntz Library

This workshop presents tools, skills & tips for anyone who will be presenting their research or creative work in the classroom, conference, or other professional setting.

Please register so that we can save your seat. We will also send out the recorded workshop to those who register, and post the recording to YouTube. You may attend in person or online via Zoom (https://uttyler.zoom.us/j/9035667343). Workshop takes place in LIB 422 in the Library.
Join the liaison librarians in the Library Living Room (2nd Floor) to tell us how we can support you moving forward, ask your questions about our services or collection, and voice any concerns you may have as our University continues to grow.
 
Presented by Rebecca Fernandez, Head of Electronic Resources & Collection Management - Robert R. Muntz Library

Did you know that the Muntz Library offers a number of resources and tools to support faculty instruction, research, writing, and publishing? Join us for an introduction to these resources! All disciplines welcome!

Please register so that we can save your seat. We will also send out the recorded workshop to those who register, and post the recording to YouTube. You may attend in person or online via Zoom (https://uttyler.zoom.us/j/9035667343). Workshop takes place in LIB 422 in the Library.
Presented by Sarah Norrell, Librarian - Robert R. Muntz Library & Jennifer Daniel, Educational Technology Support Specialist - UT Tyler Office of Digital Learning

This workshop introduces the e-Portfolio as a tool to professionally present research, creative works, or develop an online brand. Workshop hosts will provide e-Portfolio tips, etiquette, and platforms for exploration.

Please register so that we can save your seat. We will also send out the recorded workshop to those who register, and post the recording to YouTube. You may attend in person or online via Zoom (https://uttyler.zoom.us/j/9035667343). Workshop takes place in the Office of Digital Learning - Learning Lab.
Presented by Christine Forisha, Librarian - Robert R. Muntz Library

"Open" as a way of sharing new developments has been around for a couple of decades. This workshop will cover a brief history of how the concept of "open" is flourishing in science, technology, and education, and offer some tools for you to use open resources in your classes and research.

Please register so that we can save your seat. We will also send out the recorded workshop to those who register, and post the recording to YouTube. You may attend in person or online via Zoom (https://uttyler.zoom.us/j/9035667343). Workshop takes place in LIB 422 in the Library.
Presented by
Suzanne Abbey, Librarian - Robert R. Muntz Library
Vandy Dubre, Librarian - Robert R. Muntz Library
Rebecca Fernandez, Head of Electronic Resources & Collection Management - Robert R. Muntz Library
Christine Forisha, Librarian - Robert R. Muntz Library
Sarah Norrell, Librarian - Robert R. Muntz Library

Join the liaison librarians for a fast-paced session of 5-minute lightning round presentations. These quick presentations will highlight a variety of topics and resources including: Researching companies during the job searching process, Using databases for practical research, LearningExpress Library, TexShare, clinicaltrials.gov, SAGE Research Methods, Using databases according to your keywords, Searching Scopus/Pivot for funding possibilities, and more!

Please register so that we can save your seat. We will also send out the recorded workshop to those who register, and post the recording to YouTube. You may attend in person or online via Zoom (https://uttyler.zoom.us/j/9035667343). Workshop takes place in LIB 422 in the Library.