Research Guides: Open Educational Resources (OER): OER by Subject and Class

OER vs OA vs Public Domain

All of the following resources are free to use, but remember to check if they are OER, Open Acces (OA), or public domain. This dictates what you can or cannot do with it.

OER: can re-use, adapt, change, remix, etc.
OA: can access and read for free - does not necessarily mean it can be changed.
Public Domain: no longer has any copyright protection, or never had it to begin with. Can be re-used, changed, etc. without permission or credit.

The Digital Public Library of America
A purely digital library of text and multi-media that works to pull works and information from libraries, museums, and collections across the United States.
The Gutenberg Project
The Gutenberg Project is a collection of public-domain or free to use eBook works. Both fiction and non-fiction works are included.
ibiblio
An open-access database and archive of internet based materials, including open-access and open-source software.
The Internet Archive
The Internet Archive hosts a wide variety of books, software, multimedia, and more for free.
LibriVox
A partner of the Gutenberg Project, this collection offers free audiobooks of public-domain works.
The Mason OER Metafinder
Does not host open-access content, but rather is a real-time search engine that searches through several OER sites and databases.
MERLOT
MERLOT is an Open-Access database, hosting a wide range of resources and subjects.
OER Commons
A public all-digital library of OER material, including data sets, case studies, lesson plans, and textbooks.
OERu
OERu provides free OER full-length courses.
Online Archive of California
An open-access primary source archive.
Online Learning Initiative
An online collection of free courses for students and course materials for faculty in a wide range of subjects.
Open Course Library
The Open Course Library offers both OER courses to learn independently and OER course materials to use in formal courses.
The Smithsonian Press
The Smithsonian provided free access to its collection of The Smithsonian Press.

American Institute of Mathematics Textbooks
The American Institute of Mathematics provides a list of open access mathematics textbooks.
BCcampus OpenEducation
A collection of open access textbooks.
MIT OpenCourseWare
MIT provides open course content, including textbooks, assignments, and more for a variety of subjects including STEM and Humanities.
OER Commons - Textbooks
Textbook specific section of the OER commons database.
OpenStax
Open-access and online textbooks.
Open Textbook Library
The Open Textbook Library is a library hosted by the University of Minnesota, providing open access textbooks.
Lynx Open Texbooks
Lynx offers several OER textbooks in a handful of subjects such a business and math.

If you are looking for a specific textbook, don't forget to check the library's eBook collection! While not open-access, it may help you find the book you are looking for.

OER by Subject

Audible Stories
Free Audible audiobooks, mostly fiction. Geared towards children and young adults, but has many classics as well.
Edinburgh University Press
The Edinburgh University Press has a collection of free eBooks available.
The Met Collection
The Met has high-definition images of many of the items in its collection available online for works in the public domain.
Open Folklore
An Open Access database of resources and journal articles, specific to Folklore.
OpenStax Humanities
The OpenStax collection of Humanities textbooks.
Open Textbook Library Humanities
Open Access textbooks for the humanities.
WGBH Open Vault
A library of multi-media from WGBH, a radio station in Boston with a focus on history.

American Institute of Mathematics Textbooks
The American Institute of Mathematics provides a list of open access textbooks.
Applied Math and Science Education Repository
Provides free educational materials for mathematics and science courses.
NASA
NASA provides access to much of its data in an open access capacity.
Netflix Documentaries
Free officially hosted Netflix Science Documentaries.
OpenStax Math
The OpenStax collection of Math textbooks
OpenStax Science
The OpenStax collection of Science textbooks.
Open Textbook Library Computer Science
Open Access textbooks for computer science
Open Textbook Library Engineering
Open Access textbooks for engineering.
Open Textbook Library Math
Open Access textbooks for mathematics.
Open Textbook Library Natural Science
Open Access textbooks for natural sciences.
World Bank
A science and health based database with a focus on data sets from World Bank.

Open Textbook Library Education
Open Access textbooks for education.

Child Welfare Information Gateway
A Social Worker specific Government website that hosts data sets and resources for those in the field.
Data Journalism
Free resources and data specific to journalism, including free courses. Users will need to create an account, but then are free to enroll in courses and access content.
Edinburgh University Press
The Edinburgh University Press has a collection of free eBooks availalbe.
Library of Congress Civil Rights Collection
A collection of resources regarding the history of the Civil Rights movement.
OpenStax Social Science
The OpenStax collection of Social Science textbooks.
Open Textbook Library Social Sciences
Open Access textbooks for social sciences.
Southern Poverty Law Center
A wide variety of resources, including hate crime statistics, intelligence reports, and publishes articles.

Open Textbook Library Medicine
Open Access textbooks for health/medicine.
John Hopkins Open CourseWare
JHSPH OCW provides health-based open course content and other heatlh-based resources.
Open Access Government
Provides Health and Science based open access journals, articles, and resources.
Open RN
Open Access Nursing based textbook project.
NCBI Bookshelf
Open Access to books and documents in both science and health-related fields.

Open Access Button
A link to an extension that helps to find open access versions of materials.
Unpaywall
Similar to the Open Access button. A website and extension that searches for open access versions of journal articles and other documents.

OER by Course

These tabs provide direct links to OER material used in previous courses on campus. Note that these are from previous semesters! Always check your syllabus to ensure you have the right textbook or other materials needed.

S20 - FINA 4357 - Accessory
R Studio
S20 - FINA 4357 - Accessory
The R Project for Statistical Computing
S20 - FINA 4357 - Textbook
Forecasting: Principles and Practice by Rob J.Hyndman and George Athanasopoulos

S20 - HIST 1301 - Textbook
U.S. History textbook by OpenStax

S20 - HRD 6355 - Accessory
The Comprehensive R Archive Network.

F20; F19 - MARK 3311.003 - Textbook
Principles of Marketing by Lumen Learning

F20 - MATH 2312 - Textbook
Precalculus textbook by OpenStax.
F20 - MATH 3305 - Textbook
Notes on Diffy Qs: Differential Equations for Engineers by Jiˇr´ı Lebl.
F20 - MATH 3315 - Textbook
Linear Algebra by Jim Hefferon
S20 - MATH 2330 - Textbook
Applied Discrete Structures by Alan Doerr and Kenneth Levasseur.
S20 - MATH 2413 - Textbook
Apex Calculus - Open Source
S20 - MATH 3336 - Textbook
Abstract Algebra: Theory and Applications (2019 version) by Thomas W. Judson.
S20 - MATH 3380 - Textbook
Algorithms for Applied Mathematics by Stephen J. Graves.

F20 - MUSI 1311 - Accessory
Music Theory Lessons, Exercises, and Tools.
F20 - MUSI 1311 - Textbook
Open Music Theory, edited by Kris Shaffer and Robin Wharton.
F20 - MUSI 1311 - Textbook
Open Music Theory by Bryn Hughes et. al.
F20 - MUSI 2311 - Accessory
Music Theory Lessons, Exercises, and Tools.
F20 - MUSI 2311 - Textbook
Open Music Theory, edited by Kris Shaffer and Robin Wharton.
F20 - MUSI 2311 - Textbook
Open Music Theory by Bryn Hughes et. al.
S20 - MUSI 1312 - Accessory
Music Theory Lessons, Exercises, and Tools.
S20 - MUSI 1312 - Textbook
Open Music Theory, edited by Kris Shaffer and Robin Wharton.

F19; F20 - NURS 6310 - Book
Flatland: A Romance of Many Dimensions (Illustrated) by Edwin Abbott Abbott.

F20 - CHEM 1311 - Alternative Textbook
Chemistry: The Central Science - Libretexts Texmap. Free alternative to the paid textbook, but not identical.
F20 - PHYS 1303 - Textbook
Astronomy by Andrew Fraknoi, David Marrison, and Sidney C. Wolff. OpenStax textbook.
S20 - BIOL 2320 - Textbook
Microbiology textbooks by OpenStax
S20 - CHEM 1311 - Textbook
LibreText Coursemap Alternative to the paid textbook.
S20 - PHYS 1301 - Textbook
Astronomy textbook by OpenStax.


Like us on Facebook	Follow us on Instagram	Check us out on YouTube