Hello! Welcome to the health care administration research guide at the UT Tyler library.
This guide is designed to inform you about resources for your studies in all aspects of health care administration.
Please be aware that some links in this guide will link out to other UT Tyler guides, databases, and other Internet sources in new browser tabs.
|Fall & Spring|
|Mo - Th||7:30am - midnight|
|Fr||7:30am - midnight|
|Sa||9:00am - 6pm|
|Su||1:00pm - midnight|
|Mo - Th||7:30am - 10:00pm|
|Fr||7:30am - 5:00 pm|
|Sa||9:00am - 6:00pm|
|Su||1:00pm - 10:00pm|
|Special or holiday hours.|
Here is some of what you'll find in this guide:
Databases - How to search for articles, Access to databases, List of best journals
Books - How to search for books, How to use ebooks
Web Resources - Lists of websites, How to evaluate websites
Additional Resources - APA guide, How to use interlibrary loan
Statistics & Research Methods - Access to data and research sources, Quantitative vs. qualitative research
For Faculty - Library services for faculty
Courses - Current and archived courses having library instruction
! UPDATE !
We have some great new e-books if you are interested in healthcare marketing and business research!
Click the titles below to access the entire books in .PDF format.
! UPDATE !
We now have access to the excellent IBISWorld database. This is a premier database containing detailed industry reports.
If you're looking for industry-level data for the health care industry, IBISWorld is a great database to use! Click the link below to get into the database. Once in, click the red link labeled "US Industry Reports (NAICS)." Next, click on the industry sector labeled "Healthcare and Social Assistance" and click on any of the reports you want to view.
Simply defined, health care administration is the professional field of managing a variety of health and medical systems. These systems may consist of individual for-profit and non-profit establishments such as hospitals, clinics, mental health facilities, pharmaceutical companies, and other medical-clinical-research environments, including entire networks within which these establishments are a part. For example, administrators might manage a single department within a hospital, manage an entire hospital, or oversee an entire network of hospitals.
Other areas administrators may manage include entire public health and health care systems. Level of management may be at local, state, or national levels. Administrators may work for private or public sectors and may hold positions at governmental and non-governmental agencies.
Health care administrators must be excellent managers; they must be leaders who can oversee entire departments, facilities, and/or networks. Often, the duties of an administrator will include fluent knowledge of and ability to apply principles of accounting, budgeting, economics, finance, human resources, marketing, organization, policy analysis, strategic planning, technology, and more. Administrators must anticipate and plan for change and implement a long-term vision for the workplace. They must be knowledgable in organizational, informational, and systemic productive workflows.
You can read more about health care administrator duties, salaries, and job outlook here: Medical and Health Services Managers. This entry comes from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Outlook Handbook for Management Occupations.
If you're in the Tyler, TX area and would like to set up a face-to-face appointment with me to talk about your assignments, send me an e-mail. Let me know what the assignment is about, what research you've done thus far, and any other related information.
If you are a distance student, we can do appointments via telephone, Skype, or Google Hangouts if you like... though I can usually answer most questions via e-mail and will be happy to e-mail back-and-forth to meet your information needs.
I will be glad to help you with using the databases, looking for books, brainstorming ideas, citing sources, and related tasks. However, I can't help you write your paper, do your statistics, or complete any of your homework assignments.
If you need help with writing and/or statistics, you may want to look at the Statistics & Research Methods section of this guide. I've listed a number of downloadable e-books on a variety of writing and statistics topics that may help you.
Alternatively, for writing assistance you can contact the on-campus Writing Center. They offer online tutoring if you are a distance student.
For statistics tutoring, you can contact the on-campus Department of Mathematics.
SUN = n/a
MON = by appointment
TUE = by appointment
WED = by appointment
THU = by appointment
FRI = n/a
SAT = n/a