Resources for Evidence-Based Practice research.
Last Updated: Jun 15, 2015
Below are the main databases for Nursing and Health Sciences.
For more see the Databases by Subject page on the library website.
- CINAHL Complete
Indexing over 5,300 journals from the literature of Nursing and Allied Health, CINAHL Complete provides full-text access to more than a quarter (1,300) of them.
- Cochrane Library
The premiere database of evidence-based bio-medical and health sciences research. Cochrane Library comprises a series of databases covering the literature of evidence based medicine. The best known of these is the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, which provides access to the full text of industry-standard systematic reviews and meta-analyses.
Other databases within the library provide index coverage of randomized control trials, methodological reviews, reviews of effects, technology assessments, and economic evaluations.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, as well as the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets.
This is the commercial version of the PubMed database. PubMed/MEDLINE comprise the world's largest database of bio-medical literature. Together they provide citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals covering all areas of medicine.
- Nursing & Health Sciences: SAGE journals online
A searchable index of 26 full text nursing and health science journals published by SAGE.
The free, publicly accessible version of MEDLINE produced by the National Library of Medicine. It contains the entire MEDLINE database, plus records in process of being added to MEDLINE.