Hello! Welcome to the Education research guide at the UT Tyler Library.
This guide is designed to inform you about resources for your studies in all aspects of Education and Educational Leadership.
|Fall & Spring|
|Mo - Th||7:30am - 2:00am|
|Fr||7:30am - 5pm|
|Sa||9:00am - 6pm|
|Su||1:00pm - 2:00am|
|Mo - Th||7:30am - 10:00pm|
|Fr||7:30am - 5:00 pm|
|Sa||9:00am - 6:00pm|
|Su||1:00pm - 10:00pm|
|Special or holiday hours.|
Here is some of what you'll find in this guide:
Databases - links to scholarly literature databases such as Education Source, ERIC, Professional Development Collection, and ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global.
Books - links to find books & other monographic works, both in the Muntz Library and beyond.
Web Resources - links to center, professional associations, and projects dealing with Education, as well as collections of lesson plans.
Government Resources - links to federal and TEA resources.
Citation Guides - examples of APA citations, plus links to creating an APA research paper and Zotero, a free citation manager.
Developmental Milestones - what children should be able to do from prenatal to adolescence.
Need Help? - contact information, troubleshooting off-campus access issues, details on interlibrary loan, and information on the Writing Center.
NOTE: I am currently updating all of the Education tutorials. The ones with 2017 are new and reflect the new library webpage, new databases, and new SwoopSearch.
Here are a few tutorials specific to the UT Tyler Library and its resources. Although the examples used are all from the field of reading, the basic concepts should be applicable to any type of library research in Education. If you have any additional questions, please email me, or if you need a more immediate response, please call the reference desk at 903 566-7343 or chat via the link on the main page of the library. At the bottom right of the homepage see the box "Chat is online."
SAGE Database for Education (2017)
Doing Basic Research in Education Databases note: Education Resource Complete is now Education Source.
For a quick start, begin with these four resources:
1. For books that you can check out or read online today, go to the Library Catalog.
2. For books that the UT Tyler Library does not own, go to WorldCat, search for a book, and then click on Request from Another Library.
3. For scholarly articles, go to Education Source. This link will actually allow you to choose four education databases (Education Source, Educational Administration Abstracts, ERIC, and Professional Development Collection, and then search them all at the same time.
4. For dissertations and theses, go to ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global.