Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Library Home Find a Book Find an Article Find a Journal Borrow From Another Library Course Reserves Research Guides How to Cite

Sociology 

Last update: Jun 01st, 2009 URL: http://libguides.uttyler.edu/content.php?pid=9552  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find an Article (Databases)             Print Page
  

Sociology (Use to find articles)

Do you need to find an article? If you are working in the field of sociology, try one of these databases first.

NOTE: These are subscription-based resources. If you are affiliated with the university, and you are trying to use them from home or other off-campus location, you will be prompted to log-in.

Note: Sociological Abstracts is only available in paper at the Robert R. Muntz Library.  Our holdings go back to 1953, and it is located at Ref. HM1 .S67.

 

  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Large scholarly, multi-discipline, full text database containing over 5300 journal titles, about half with full image and/or full text articles. Most indexing dates back to 1993, and most full text only goes back to 1998.
  • Annual Review of Sociology  
      
    Reviews of the year's research, back to 1975.
  • JSTOR  
      
    A full-image collection of the back issues of over 1100 scholarly journals representing most major academic disciplines, including 70 journals in sociology. Access from first issue to within 3-5 years of present.
  • SocIndex with Fulltext  
      
    Provides full text for over 300 journals, 545 books, and 6,711 conference papers in all subdisciplines of sociology, including anthropology, criminology, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, and gender studies.
  • Web of Science  
      
    Provides indexing for over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals, with coverage going back to 1975.

Other Databases You Could Try (Use to find articles)

These are other article databases that have some content relevant to the field of sociology. You could try these as well for your research.

NOTE: These are subscription-based resources. If you are affiliated with the university, and you are trying to use them from home or other off-campus location, you will be prompted to log-in.

  • PAO: Periodicals Archive Online  
      
    Covers over 350 fulltext journals in the humanities and social sciences published from 1770 to the present.
  • Project Muse  
      
    Over 100 full-text journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences, over 40 of them in history. None of the holdings are older than 1995, some only back to 2000.
  • Gerritsen Collection--Women's History Online  
      
    Includes primary source material published from 1543-1945, possibly the greatest single source for the study of international women's history and the feminist movement. Includes books and periodicals.
  • Google Scholar  
      
    Covers peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and other scholarly literature from all broad areas of research.

If you have a citation from a book or article bibliography...

Go to the Online and Print Journals page, enter the title of the journal, and see if it is available in any of our subscription databases or in the Library. Check to make sure your date is covered, then click on the database name, or make a note to come by the library. If we don't have direct access to the journal issue you need, please fill out an interlibrary loan request form.

 

Reference Librarian

Profile ImageAngel Rivera


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Reference and Outreach Librarian
LIB 216
903-566-7165
Send Email

Subjects:
Communications, Education, Psychology

Sociology Journals Available Through the UT-Tyler Library, by field

 
Robert R. Muntz Library • The University of Texas at Tyler • 3900 University Blvd. • Tyler, Tx 75799
Ph: 903.566.7343 • Ph: 800-UTTYLER
Copyright © UT Tyler, 2001-present
Description

  Loading content... please wait