Primary Documents
Copies of the Declaration of Independence, U.S. Constitution, the Bill of Rights, and the Federalist Papers.
Major Government and Political Institutions
Search Engines for Finding Government Information
Additional Web Resources
Many of these websites were suggested by the UT-Tyler Political Science Department on their webpage.
- American Fact Finder (Bureau of the Census)
Locate community profiles, census data, population, housing, economic, and geographic data for all areas of the United States. - CIA World Factbook
Contains factual information about the people, geography, government, economy, communication, transportation, and military agencies of countries around the world. Also includes data on the United States. Updated weekly. - Code of Federal Regulations
- Congressional Hearings (Library of Congress Pilot Project)

The Law Library of Congress contains approximately 75,000 volumes of printed Congressional Hearings. As part of the Law Library’s transition to the digital future, a collaborative pilot project was undertaken with Google, Inc. to digitize the entire collection and make it freely available to Congress and the world. Three collections have been selectively compiled to provide users with a test experience: census. freedom of information and privacy, and immigration. - Congressional Research Service Reports
This site aims to provide integrated, searchable access to many of the full-text CRS reports that have been available at a variety of different Web sites since 1990. - Digital National Security Archive
This database contains over 43,000 of the most important declassified documents regarding U.S. policy decisions, as well as Presidential Directives from Truman to Clinton. - Federal Register
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
View the most current or archived editions online. - Thomas: Legislative Information on the Internet
Search and view current and historical bills, laws, committee reports, and the Congressional Record Index. - United States Government Manual
As the official handbook of the Federal Government, the United States Government Manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. - The Legislative Process Explained (Library of Congress)
- Legislative Process, by the House of Representatives
- Current Issues in Focus (White House)
Includes fact sheets, news releases, and presidential speeches. - GPO Access
GPO Access is a service of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides free electronic access to a wealth of important information products produced by the Federal Government - Project Vote Smart
An excellent, non-partisan, non-profit effort that researches, tracks and provides to the public independent factual information on over 13,000 candidates and elected officials. - American National Election Studies
ANES conducts national surveys of the American electorate in presidential and midterm election years and carries out research and development work through pilot studies in odd-numbered years. - Gallup Organization
Public political opinion pollsters. UT-Tyler has printed volumes at Ref. HN90.P8 G35. - C-Span Online
A wealth of information about the current Congress with up to the minute updates on the actions of the Senate and House. - Congressional Quarterly
News about current activities of Congress. See Votewatch and American Voter sections for detail on floor votes and activities of individual Representatives. - Roll Call
A newspaper that reports exclusively on Congress and the Federal government. - The Hill
Another newspaper that reports on Congress and the Federal government. - Cornell Law Library
All Supreme Court cases from 1990 to the present and a selection of historically significant cases. - FedWorld/FLITE Supreme Court Decisions
Supreme Court cases from 1937-1985 available on line. - Center for Responsive Politics
A nonprofit research center devoted to improving the nation's political system with focus on PAC analysis, campaign financing and effectiveness of the Federal Elections Commission. - The American Presidency Project
Established in 1999, this site is valuable for its extensive coverage of both historical and current information on United States presidencies and is easy to navigate. It provides a searchable database of over 85,000 documents, such as speeches, official papers, executive orders, proclamations, news conferences, and press briefings (from ALA Best Reference Websites description)
Reference Librarian |
Angel RiveraOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Reference and Outreach Librarian
LIB 216
903-566-7165
Send Email
Subjects:
Communications, Education, Psychology
![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Reference and Outreach Librarian
LIB 216
903-566-7165
Send Email
Subjects:
Communications, Education, Psychology
Description
Loading content... please wait






Loading content... please wait