State Historic Documents
The Robert R. Muntz Library has been a State Depository for state documents since the earliest days of Tyler State College. It is housed on the 3rd floor of the library on either side of the windows facing the Business Building. The collection includes General and Special Laws, Senate Journals, House Journals, and special legislative reports, among many, many other documents.
- Gammel's Laws of Texas, 1822-1897
Consists of documents not only covering each congressional and legislative session but comprise other documents of significance, including the constitutions, select journals from the constitutional conventions, and early colonization laws. - Texas Constitutions, 1824-1876
Includes both page images of the Constitutions, as well as .html files providing the full and clear text of the documents in an easily searchable format. - Revised Civil and Criminal Statutes, of Texas, 1879-1925
- Texas Ordinance of Secession
Includes image of signatures.
Federal Historic Documents
- US Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1875
Includes Journals of the Continental Congress through the Congressional Record, including the Statutes at Large and the Serial Set. - Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy
Yale University's Avalon Project--Includes much more than just US documents. - Primary Documents in American History
Includes Declaration of Independence, Constitution, Bill of Rights, Federalist Papers, and documents from the Continental Congress and Constitutional Convention. - Statistical Abstract: Historical Statistics 2008
PDF and Excel files on over 50 topics. - Historic Court Cases
Search by topic or by case name, both state and federal. - Congressional Publications back to 1969
Historic Census Information
Summaries of each census since 1790 are included in the series America in Two Centuries, an Inventory, with a volume for each census. The years 1790, 1800, 1830, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1890, 1900, 1920, and 1930 are at HA 201 (regular sized books). The years 1810, 1820, 1840, 1850, 1910, 1940, 1950, and 1960 are at HA 201 (oversized books).
- Heritage Quest
Search for individuals in the 1790, 1800, 1810, 1820, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1890 (partial), 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 (partial) census data. Browse the remaining years. Full images of original handwritten pages. - Historical Census Browser
Retrieves statistics based on census questions, makes comparisons and maps results. Does not include information on individuals. Results down to county level. - Census Report summaries, 1790-2000
The printed census summaries of the various schedules (population, agriculture, industry, etc.), plus the instructions to the census takers.
International Documents
- EuroDocs: Primary Historical Documents from Western Europe
A wealth of primary source material from 22 countries (plus Vatican City). Sites are sorted by country and listed chronologically. Available sources include letters, facsimiles of paintings and photographs, journals, and official documents. - International Constitutional Law
Constitutions of numerous countries around the world.
Reference Librarian |
Angel Rivera![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Reference and Outreach Librarian
LIB 216
903-566-7165
Send Email
Subjects:
Communications, Education, Psychology
Description
Loading content... please wait






Loading content... please wait