International ResourcesLocal ResourcesNational ResourcesState Resources
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Library Home Find a Book Find an Article Find a Journal Borrow From Another Library Course Reserves Research Guides How to Cite

Admin Sign In 

Political Science 

Last update: Nov 03rd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.uttyler.edu/politsci  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Book Reviews             Print Page
  

Online Book Reviews

  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    For current book reviews, enter title or author, then click on Book Review under Document Type.
  • JSTOR  
      
    For book reviews up until 3-5 years ago, enter the title as full-text, and limit to review.
  • Historical New York Times (1851-2004)  
      
    Enter the title of the book, then change the Document Type to Review.
  • Infotrac Custom Newspapers  
      
    Includes current issues of the New York Times Book Reviews. Enter title of book as keyword, then enter New York Times Book Review as the publication title.
 

Book Review Books in the Library

Book Review Digest (1906-current). Ref. Z1219 .C95. Check the year the book was published, or the year following. Includes both excerpts of reviews and references to others in journals.

Book Review Index (1965-current). Ref. Z1035.A1 B6. Check the year the book was published, or the year following. Does not include excerpts but covers more journals than Book Review Digest.

New York Times Book Review (1896-1970). Ref. AP2 .N658. Includes reprints of reviews.

Author Information Online

  • Contemporary Authors  
      
    Provides complete biographical and bibliographical information on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors. Updated monthly.
  • JSTOR  
      
    Enter the author's name in quotes, then limit to "Other" to pull up the news sections of historical journals.
  • Directory of American Scholars (2002)  
      
    This link takes you to NetLibrary. Enter "Directory of American Scholars" to pull up the 2002 edition. Use "Search this eContent" box to find your author.
 

Author Information in the Library

Contemporary Authors (1962-present). Ref. Z1224 .R6 and Ref. Z1224 .R62. Use the blue paperback index to find the right volume.

Directory of American Scholars.  Ref. LA2311 .C32 1969, Ref. LA2311 .C32 1974, Ref. LA2311 .D57 1978, Ref. LA2311 .D57 1982, Ref. LA2311 .D57 1999, and Ref. LA2311 .D57 2002.  Check in the History volume for Who's Who type entries.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index (1981-1990).  Ref. CT100 .B52.  Indexes wide selection of biographical sources.

Biography Index (1946-2001).  Ref. Z5301 .B5.  Indexes biographical articles in periodicals.

 

Reference Librarian

Profile ImageAngel Rivera


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Reference and Outreach Librarian
LIB 216
903-566-7165
Send Email

Subjects:
Communications, Education, Psychology

 
Robert R. Muntz Library • The University of Texas at Tyler • 3900 University Blvd. • Tyler, Tx 75799
Ph: 903.566.7343 • Ph: 800-UTTYLER
Copyright © UT Tyler, 2001-present
Description

  Loading content... please wait