International ResourcesLocal ResourcesNational ResourcesState Resources
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Library Home Find a Book Find an Article Find a Journal Borrow From Another Library Course Reserves Research Guides How to Cite

Admin Sign In 

Political Science 

Last update: Nov 03rd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.uttyler.edu/politsci  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find an Article (Databases)             Print Page
  

Political Science (Use to find articles)

Do you need to find an article? If you are working in the field of political science, try one of these databases first.

NOTE: These are subscription-based resources. If you are affiliated with the university, and you are trying to use them from home or other off-campus location, you will be prompted to log-in.

Note: PAIS:  Public Affairs Information Service (OCLC FirstSearch)--Citations only.  Available in the library only; ask the reference librarian to log you in.

 

  • Annual Review of Law and Social Science  
      
    Review of the year's research going back to 2005.
  • Campus Research (Westlaw)  
      
    Includes analytical sources - more than 700 law reviews and journals - and primary law sources – all federal and state cases including U.S. Supreme Court cases, state statutes and regulations, the CFR and the Federal Register.
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe  
      
    A good source for general news, also reference information including profiles of politicians and business executives, country profiles, Roper Opinion Polls, famous quotations, state profiles, and an online version of the World Almanac and Book of Facts.
  • Lexis Nexis Congressional Universe  
      
    Includes the Congressional Information Service Index, full-text reports, documents, bills, public laws, and the Congressional Record.
  • Web of Science  
      
    Provides indexing for over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals, with coverage going back to 1975.

Other Databases You Can Try (Use to find articles)

These are other article databases that have some content relevant to the field of political science. You could try these as well for your research.

NOTE: These are subscription-based resources. If you are affiliated with the university, and you are trying to use them from home or other off-campus location, you will be prompted to log-in.

  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Large scholarly, multi-discipline, full text database containing over 5300 journal titles, about half with full image and/or full text articles. Most indexing dates back to 1993, and most full text only goes back to 1998.
  • America: History and Life  
      
    Indexing and abstracting for periodicals and dissertations on US and Canadian history, published 1954 to the present. Articles in JSTOR, History Cooperative, and Project Muse have direct links.
  • Historical Abstracts  
      
    Indexing and abstracting for periodicals and dissertations on all *except* US and Canadian history. Covers 1450 to present, published since 1955. Some links to full text.
  • JSTOR  
      
    A full-image collection of the back issues of over 1100 scholarly journals representing most major academic disciplines including 76 of the top journals in political science. Access from first issue to within 3-5 years of present.
  • American Periodical Series Online  
      
    Includes over 1,100 full-text periodicals that were first published between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, and children's and women's magazines.
  • PAO: Periodicals Archive Online  
      
    Covers over 350 fulltext journals in the humanities and social sciences published from 1770 to the present.
  • Project Muse  
      
    Over 100 full-text journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences, over 40 of them in history. None of the holdings are older than 1995, some only back to 2000.
  • Google Scholar  
      
    Covers peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and other scholarly literature from all broad areas of research.
  • Gerritsen Collection-Women's History Online  
      
    Includes primary source material published from 1543-1945, possibly the greatest single source for the study of international women's history and the feminist movement. Includes books and periodicals.
 

Printed Periodical Indexes

Yes, there was life before computers!  We still have the old printed journal indexes which are useful for earlier time periods.  For example, if you are looking for public reaction to Pearl Harbor, check Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature for 1941-1942.

Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature (1900-2001)AI3 .R47.

Social Science and Humanities Index (1955-1974). Ref. AI3 .R49.

International Index to Periodicals. (1907-1965). Ref. AI3 .R49.

Public Affairs Information Service (1917-1988).  Ref. Z7163 .P9.

 

If you have a citation from a book or article bibliography...

Go to the Online and Print Journals page, enter the title of the journal, and see if it is available in any of our subscription databases or in the Library. Check to make sure your date is covered, then click on the database name, or make a note to come by the library. If we don't have direct access to the journal issue you need, please fill out an interlibrary loan request form.

 

Reference Librarian

Profile ImageAngel Rivera


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Reference and Outreach Librarian
LIB 216
903-566-7165
Send Email

Subjects:
Communications, Education, Psychology

Political Science Periodicals Available Through the UT-Tyler Library

 
Robert R. Muntz Library • The University of Texas at Tyler • 3900 University Blvd. • Tyler, Tx 75799
Ph: 903.566.7343 • Ph: 800-UTTYLER
Copyright © UT Tyler, 2001-present
Description

  Loading content... please wait