Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Library Home Find a Book Find an Article Find a Journal Borrow From Another Library Course Reserves Research Guides How to Cite

Admin Sign In 

Criminal Justice 

Last update: Jun 02nd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.uttyler.edu/cj  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find an Article (Databases)             Print Page
  

Criminal Justice Databases (Use to find articles)

Do you need to find an article? If you are working in the field of criminal justice, try one of these databases first.

NOTE: These are subscription-based resources. If you are affiliated with the university, and you are trying to use them from home or other off-campus location, you will be prompted to log-in.

 

  • Web of Science  
      
    Provides indexing for over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals, with coverage going back to 1975.
  • Lexis Nexis Academic Universe  
      
    Use the News tab for articles and the Legal tab for law reviews and case research.
  • SocIndex with Fulltext  
      
    Provides full text for over 300 journals, 545 books, and 6,711 conference papers in all subdisciplines of sociology, including anthropology, criminology, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, and gender studies.
  • Annual Reviews--Law and Social Sciences  
      
    Review of the year's research, back to 2005.
  • National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database  
      
    The NCJRS Abstracts Database contains summaries of the more than 195,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Library collection. Note: This resource is freely available on the web.

Other Databases You Could Try (Use to find articles)

These are other article databases that have some content relevant to the field of criminal justice. You could try these as well for your research.

NOTE: These are subscription-based resources. If you are affiliated with the university, and you are trying to use them from home or other off-campus location, you will be prompted to log-in.

  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Large scholarly, multi-discipline, full text database containing over 5300 journal titles, about half with full image and/or full text articles. Most indexing dates back to 1993, and most full text only goes back to 1998.
  • PAO: Periodicals Archive Online  
      
    Covers over 350 fulltext journals in the humanities and social sciences published from 1770 to the present.
  • JSTOR  
      
    A full-image collection of the back issues of over 1100 scholarly journals representing most major academic disciplines. Access from first issue to within 3-5 years of present.
  • Project Muse  
      
    Over 100 full-text journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. None of the holdings are older than 1995, some only back to 2000.
  • Google Scholar  
      
    Covers peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and other scholarly literature from all broad areas of research.

If you have a citation from a book or article bibliography...

Go to the Online and Print Journals page, enter the title of the journal, and see if it is available in any of our subscription databases or in the Library. Check to make sure your date is covered, then click on the database name, or make a note to come by the library. If we don't have direct access to the journal issue you need, please fill out an interlibrary loan request form.

 

Printed Periodical Indexes

Yes, there was life before computers! We still have the old printed journal indexes which are useful for researching earlier time periods.

Criminal Justice Periodical Index (1975-1998).  Ref. Z5118.C9 C74.

Crime and Delinquency Literature (1968-1978).  Ref. HV6001 .C67.

Criminal Justice Abstracts (1977-1981).  Ref. HV6001 .C67

Criminology and Penology Abstracts (1982-1987).  Ref. HV6006 .E9.

Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature (1900-2001). Ref. AI3 .R47.

Index to Legal Periodicals (1952-1992).  Ref. K9 .N32.

 

 

 

Reference Librarian

Profile ImageAngel Rivera


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Reference and Outreach Librarian
LIB 216
903-566-7165
Send Email

Subjects:
Communications, Education, Psychology

Criminal Justice Periodicals Available Through UT-Tyler Library

 
Robert R. Muntz Library • The University of Texas at Tyler • 3900 University Blvd. • Tyler, Tx 75799
Ph: 903.566.7343 • Ph: 800-UTTYLER
Copyright © UT Tyler, 2001-present
Description

  Loading content... please wait